Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
popej
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 18, 2017 1:40 pm
Full Name: Jeff Pope
Contact:

New Veeam user, replication question

Post by popej » Aug 18, 2017 1:44 pm

I have my Hyper-V already replicating with the OOTB replication. Does Veeam take over this replication or do I need to stop and let Veeam create the replication job.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18263
Liked: 1561 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: New Veeam user, replication question

Post by foggy » Aug 18, 2017 2:12 pm

Hi Jeff, Veeam B&R performs its own replication that is not related to Hyper-V Replication in any way. While you can map Veeam B&R replication job to existing replica VM (created by Hyper-V Replication), the initial job run will take the same time as replication from scratch would (due to digests calculation), so it probably doesn't have much sense.

popej
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 18, 2017 1:40 pm
Full Name: Jeff Pope
Contact:

Re: New Veeam user, replication question

Post by popej » Aug 18, 2017 2:16 pm

Would stopping the Hyper-V replication and letting Veeam manage it, as a way to centralize the activities, then make the most sense? Or is it really not necessary.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18263
Liked: 1561 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: New Veeam user, replication question

Post by foggy » Aug 18, 2017 3:17 pm

Cannot say for sure whether you encounter any issues in case of running them in parallel, but is there a use case behind that?

popej
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 18, 2017 1:40 pm
Full Name: Jeff Pope
Contact:

Re: New Veeam user, replication question

Post by popej » Aug 18, 2017 3:25 pm

No case behind it. Just want the most efficient and easiest way to manage the replication. Before finding out about Veeam, the MS Replication was the option we used. I don't see any benefit in running both, just wasn't sure if Veeam took over the MS Replication, or it ran its own.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18263
Liked: 1561 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: New Veeam user, replication question

Post by foggy » Aug 18, 2017 3:26 pm

It runs completely independently.

carlos_c
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 07, 2015 10:38 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] Moving from Hyper-v replica to Veeam

Post by carlos_c » May 31, 2018 3:57 pm

Can we use the Hyper-V replica vhd's as seeds or do I have to delete and transfer as a new job ?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5264
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: New Veeam user, replication question

Post by P.Tide » May 31, 2018 4:29 pm

Hi,

Yes, you can map a replication job to a replica that already exists. In your case you'll probably need to perform that operation manually, this article describes how to do that.

*takes a risk of being called a nitpicker

"Seeding" is a process of using an existing backup of a VM to create a replica out of it.

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests