New VMM deployment

Hyper-V specific discussions

New VMM deployment

Veeam Logoby justinr123 » Sat Aug 06, 2016 3:05 pm

We have 3 Hyper-V clusters with VMs backed up by Veeam B&R 9.
We added the individual clusters to Veeam, and then discovered when we migrate VMs between the clusters, Veeam doesn't recognise this is the same VM and forces you to create a new backup.

We've now deployed Virtual Machine Manager as supposedly this lets you move VMs to between clusters and Veeam will recognise the VM has moved and continue using the same backup files.

My question is therefore Is there any way of updating the backup configuration to reflect that these existing VMs are now part of a VMM deployment without creating new backups?
justinr123
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2016 2:46 pm

Re: New VMM deployment

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Aug 08, 2016 7:40 am

Unfortunately, not. After migration those VMs will be considered as new ones due to new IDs being assigned. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13558
Liked: 1006 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] How to change VMM host name?

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Wed Feb 15, 2017 12:26 pm

Hello!
I'm on the way to new VMM server (2016) instead of 2012. How to reassign VBR to new VMM host without issues?

thanks!
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill

Re: New VMM deployment

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Feb 15, 2017 12:38 pm

Hi Kirill, if it is a completely new SCVMM installation, you would need to re-add VMs in the jobs that will result in reading entire VM data during next run.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15087
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: New VMM deployment

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Wed Feb 15, 2017 2:33 pm

Hello, Alexander.
no, this is not new install - this is upgrade.
previuos VMM 2012 SQL DB need to be attached during new VMM installtion.
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill

Re: New VMM deployment

Veeam Logoby nmdange » Wed Feb 15, 2017 6:51 pm

As part of the upgrade, the new VMM host should have the same name as the old host. Basically just shutdown the old VMM server, rename the new one to the old name, and then install VMM 2016 and point it at the existing database. I didn't have any issues with Veeam when I did it this way.
nmdange
Expert
 
Posts: 217
Liked: 59 times
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm

Re: New VMM deployment

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:44 am

it should, but it would not. In my case there will be new hostname.

let me explain a little more - now I have VMM+Veeam at one physical host and need to separate it to two VMs, so those VMs will have new names.
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill

Re: New VMM deployment

Veeam Logoby negendahl » Fri Feb 17, 2017 1:32 pm

Hi,

I just moved my SCVMM to a new server, and had the same problem - a CNAME record pointing from my old server to my new server seems to work as a temporary solution, but if that works, i dont see why Veeam wont allow you to change the SCVMM server hostname? Basically it would accomplish the same?

I can be quite a big task to start new chains for all jobs.

Mick
negendahl
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:04 am

Re: New VMM deployment

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:35 pm

wow...
it's not funny =(
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill

Re: New VMM deployment

Veeam Logoby GungaMan » Sun Feb 19, 2017 11:47 am 1 person likes this post

It is possible to change the SCVMM server name in Veeam you just need to do it from powershell.
I upgraded a SCVMM 2012R2 to 2016 on a new server with another name and found this KB https://www.veeam.com/kb1905 about changing the name on a vCenter server, it works for SCVMM also.

Jan
GungaMan
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: New VMM deployment

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Mon Feb 20, 2017 9:28 am

will check this. thanks!
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill

Re: New VMM deployment

Veeam Logoby negendahl » Mon Feb 20, 2017 1:15 pm

Hmm.. i changed my servername as you descriped, but now all my jobs cannot find their VMs.
"No objects to process" error.
negendahl
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:04 am

Re: New VMM deployment

Veeam Logoby negendahl » Mon Feb 20, 2017 1:42 pm

Okay, new development - i tried to change the server name back to what it used to be = same error, then i recreated the new server as a new server in Veeam, all jobs now seem to work, but are still "linked" to my old SCVMM server.. pretty wierd.
negendahl
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:04 am


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests