Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
justinr123
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 06, 2016 2:46 pm
Contact:

New VMM deployment

Post by justinr123 » Aug 06, 2016 3:05 pm

We have 3 Hyper-V clusters with VMs backed up by Veeam B&R 9.
We added the individual clusters to Veeam, and then discovered when we migrate VMs between the clusters, Veeam doesn't recognise this is the same VM and forces you to create a new backup.

We've now deployed Virtual Machine Manager as supposedly this lets you move VMs to between clusters and Veeam will recognise the VM has moved and continue using the same backup files.

My question is therefore Is there any way of updating the backup configuration to reflect that these existing VMs are now part of a VMM deployment without creating new backups?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16879
Liked: 1429 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: New VMM deployment

Post by veremin » Aug 08, 2016 7:40 am

Unfortunately, not. After migration those VMs will be considered as new ones due to new IDs being assigned. Thanks.

WingDog
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill
Contact:

[MERGED] How to change VMM host name?

Post by WingDog » Feb 15, 2017 12:26 pm

Hello!
I'm on the way to new VMM server (2016) instead of 2012. How to reassign VBR to new VMM host without issues?

thanks!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18244
Liked: 1558 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: New VMM deployment

Post by foggy » Feb 15, 2017 12:38 pm

Hi Kirill, if it is a completely new SCVMM installation, you would need to re-add VMs in the jobs that will result in reading entire VM data during next run.

WingDog
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill
Contact:

Re: New VMM deployment

Post by WingDog » Feb 15, 2017 2:33 pm

Hello, Alexander.
no, this is not new install - this is upgrade.
previuos VMM 2012 SQL DB need to be attached during new VMM installtion.

nmdange
Expert
Posts: 468
Liked: 113 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm
Contact:

Re: New VMM deployment

Post by nmdange » Feb 15, 2017 6:51 pm

As part of the upgrade, the new VMM host should have the same name as the old host. Basically just shutdown the old VMM server, rename the new one to the old name, and then install VMM 2016 and point it at the existing database. I didn't have any issues with Veeam when I did it this way.

WingDog
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill
Contact:

Re: New VMM deployment

Post by WingDog » Feb 16, 2017 4:44 am

it should, but it would not. In my case there will be new hostname.

let me explain a little more - now I have VMM+Veeam at one physical host and need to separate it to two VMs, so those VMs will have new names.

negendahl
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 30, 2014 9:04 am
Contact:

Re: New VMM deployment

Post by negendahl » Feb 17, 2017 1:32 pm

Hi,

I just moved my SCVMM to a new server, and had the same problem - a CNAME record pointing from my old server to my new server seems to work as a temporary solution, but if that works, i dont see why Veeam wont allow you to change the SCVMM server hostname? Basically it would accomplish the same?

I can be quite a big task to start new chains for all jobs.

Mick

WingDog
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill
Contact:

Re: New VMM deployment

Post by WingDog » Feb 17, 2017 6:35 pm

wow...
it's not funny =(

GungaMan
Service Provider
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 04, 2012 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: New VMM deployment

Post by GungaMan » Feb 19, 2017 11:47 am 1 person likes this post

It is possible to change the SCVMM server name in Veeam you just need to do it from powershell.
I upgraded a SCVMM 2012R2 to 2016 on a new server with another name and found this KB https://www.veeam.com/kb1905 about changing the name on a vCenter server, it works for SCVMM also.

Jan

WingDog
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill
Contact:

Re: New VMM deployment

Post by WingDog » Feb 20, 2017 9:28 am

will check this. thanks!

negendahl
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 30, 2014 9:04 am
Contact:

Re: New VMM deployment

Post by negendahl » Feb 20, 2017 1:15 pm

Hmm.. i changed my servername as you descriped, but now all my jobs cannot find their VMs.
"No objects to process" error.

negendahl
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 30, 2014 9:04 am
Contact:

Re: New VMM deployment

Post by negendahl » Feb 20, 2017 1:42 pm

Okay, new development - i tried to change the server name back to what it used to be = same error, then i recreated the new server as a new server in Veeam, all jobs now seem to work, but are still "linked" to my old SCVMM server.. pretty wierd.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests