Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
ChrisJ83Knights
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 10, 2017 3:06 pm
Full Name: Chris Johnson
Contact:

Offsite backup server

Post by ChrisJ83Knights » Aug 24, 2017 9:56 am

Hi

We have Veeam Enterprise Plus and, would like to start doing backup copy jobs over our WAN to a remote office.

A physical Windows server has been built and has various repositories hanging off it which will be used at the remote office.

What is the best way of adding this server into my Veeam backup infrastructure, do I have to install components from the Veeam ISO or do I need to add it under Managed server > Microsoft Windows and that then installs the necessary components?

Once added I will go through adding the WAN accelerator roles.

Any help/advice appreciated.

Many thanks

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1741
Liked: 221 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Offsite backup server

Post by DGrinev » Aug 24, 2017 11:18 am

Hi Chris,

You can install all necessary components through the UI on the backup server.
Also, keep in mind WAN accelerator is recommended for use in case your WAN link is under 100Mb\sec. Thanks!

ChrisJ83Knights
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 10, 2017 3:06 pm
Full Name: Chris Johnson
Contact:

Re: Offsite backup server

Post by ChrisJ83Knights » Aug 24, 2017 12:08 pm

Ok brilliant, so do I add it as a managed server and it will install the relevant components?

Our connection is currently 100MB so would you recommend not bothering with the WAN accelerator?

Many thanks

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1741
Liked: 221 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Offsite backup server

Post by DGrinev » Aug 24, 2017 1:05 pm

That's correct, you should add the server as windows managed server on the backup server, to be able deploy the role you need.
You can deploy WAN Accelerators any time later, so set up an environment and check if the performance meets your requirements. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests