Qucik question on replicating beteween two different subnets

Hyper-V specific discussions

Qucik question on replicating beteween two different subnets

Veeam Logoby vumemu » Fri Sep 28, 2012 6:44 am

Hi All,

First time looking into veeam so sorry for the n00by question.

Basically I wanted to know how people have setup DR sites on different subnets.

e.g.

Site A is 192.168.1.0/24 and Site B is 192.168.2.0/24 and they are connected by site 2 site VPNs.

Image
http://i47.tinypic.com/2wd7cko.jpg


What happens if you replicate servers to a different subnet after the fail over what is the best way to connect to it those servers considering they have the same IP address but on a completely different network.

Curious to know your opinion.

Thanks!
vumemu
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 6:00 am
Full Name: Carlos

Re: Qucik question on replicating beteween two different sub

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Sep 28, 2012 10:19 am 1 person likes this post

Carlos, Veeam B&R provides network mapping and re-IP functionality right for these cases. If you replicate servers to a different subnet, you can specify network mapping when creating a job and on failover to a replica VM, it will be connected to the corresponding network. Also, you can specify re-IP rules for a replication job. Please refer to the corresponding user guide section (p.43). Thanks!
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Qucik question on replicating beteween two different sub

Veeam Logoby vumemu » Sat Sep 29, 2012 2:56 am

Thanks very much foggy! I will have a ready through this.
vumemu
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 6:00 am
Full Name: Carlos


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests