Question regarding replica mapping

Hyper-V specific discussions

Question regarding replica mapping

Veeam Logoby marieelieg » Wed Jan 11, 2017 2:47 pm

Hi everyone.
I have a fairly simple question regarding replica mapping.

I have a main site containing a Hyper-V cluster and a DR site containing another Hyper-V cluster. I want to do replication between the sites but I don’t want to do the first replication over WAN since it’s a slow network. If I copy existing VMs from the main site to DR (copy VHDK files from main site to USB / Hard Disk and paste them from USB / Hard Disk to DR site), can I use the Replica Mapping feature to only send changes over the network once I start the Veeam replication over WAN?

This way, I will skip the first replication over WAN by physically exporting the VHDK files to a hard disk and import them in DR, but I need to make sure that Veeam will see the VMs in DR as a replica and will only send the changes.

If not, please advise what can I do to avoid the initial replication over WAN.

Furthermore, when I add the DR Hyper-V cluster to the Veeam Console, does it need any additional license if I only want to use it as a target for replication?
In other words, when I add this DR cluster to the Veeam console (in order to use as a target for replication), will it give me an error saying I need to buy additional licenses? Or only if I try to backup from it will it give me a license error?

Thanks everyone for your help. :D
marieelieg
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 64
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 7:15 am

Re: Question regarding replica mapping

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:19 pm

Yes, you can map replication jobs to avoid sending the entire VMs (or use replica seeding alternatively) and you do not need additional licenses for the target hosts.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14718
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Question regarding replica mapping

Veeam Logoby marieelieg » Mon Jan 30, 2017 6:11 am 1 person likes this post

Hi foggy. Thanks for your help.

Sorry I could not answer before. These past few weeks have been super crazy at work.

I actually used seeding as a first step and then mapping. That worked.

Thank you! :D
marieelieg
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 64
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 7:15 am


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests