Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
mdwasim
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 10, 2016 5:39 pm
Contact:

Replace Hyper-V standalone Host with Cluster

Post by mdwasim » Nov 05, 2017 7:14 am

Hello everyone,

I need a little help with Hyper-V hosts which were added to veeam as standalone hosts.
there was no cluster of these hosts when they were added.
Now these hosts are in a Failover cluster.

I need to know is it OK to remove these hosts and add the cluster?
Will it effect the existing backup of VMs?

Thank you.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replace Hyper-V standalone Host with Cluster

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 05, 2017 4:18 pm

It is ok, but you will need to re-add VMs from the Cluster to the backup job and then map these VMs to the existing backup files. These steps are required, otherwise the backup job will fail with the error message saying that it cannot find the VM to back up. Hope this help!

mdwasim
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 10, 2016 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Replace Hyper-V standalone Host with Cluster

Post by mdwasim » Nov 05, 2017 6:12 pm

Thanks for the reply.
How do i map the backup files?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replace Hyper-V standalone Host with Cluster

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 06, 2017 6:13 pm

Here you go a link for further reading > Step 6. Specify Backup Storage Settings

mdwasim
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 10, 2016 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Replace Hyper-V standalone Host with Cluster

Post by mdwasim » Nov 07, 2017 6:49 am

Thanks for the reply guys,
I have added the Hyper-V cluster and re-added the VMs to one job
what I have noticed is that the backup is not continued with the previous backup chain.
It started with a new Full Backup instead of incremental.
Is this normal behavior?
Will I be able to restore data from previous chain if a new chain has started?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replace Hyper-V standalone Host with Cluster

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 07, 2017 8:25 am

Since the VM ID is changed, then VM is treated as a new one. See this topic for more info > Moving VMs to a new virtual center. (even though it talks about vSphere, it is still applicable to Hyper-V)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests