Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 889
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Replica instead of synchronized storage

Post by frankive » May 06, 2016 5:07 pm

To keep the storage cost down we want to use veeam b&r to replicate our temrinalservers to a secondary storage location daily(nightly).
We want to run the replication once each day but not to touch the production environment. We are also backing up the VMs from the production nightly and would like to use these backup files to have a replication copy ready to fire up.
I know how to seed the first time, but is it possible to Veeam to seed from the backup also on every incremental after? So the replica won't hit the production environment?

Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18356
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Post by foggy » May 06, 2016 5:18 pm

Frank, this is exactly what replica from backup does.

frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 889
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Post by frankive » May 06, 2016 5:47 pm

i can not see anywhere during creation of the replication job or in the manual where i can choose where to get the backup files? only at the first screen (but that is just replica seeding)

frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 889
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Post by frankive » May 06, 2016 6:01 pm

Just found it :)
It was in the window where I choose virtual machines to replicate.
Choose VM, mark it with your mouse so it turns blue, and choose source on the right side.. then pick the backup files..

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18356
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Post by foggy » May 06, 2016 8:44 pm


frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 889
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Post by frankive » May 10, 2016 10:06 am

Is it possible to failover particular machines of a replication job or is the failover pr. job?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18356
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Post by foggy » May 10, 2016 10:53 am

You can select and failover any single or several VMs.

frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 889
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Post by frankive » May 10, 2016 11:07 am

so if i have a replication job with 10 vms, I can choose to only failover one particular vm in that job?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18356
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Post by foggy » May 10, 2016 11:14 am


frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 889
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Post by frankive » May 11, 2016 1:52 pm

is it possible to replicate just the vm and not the harddrives?
we are looking for to migrate a 2008 R2 hyper-v cluster to a New 2012 R2 cluster. They shared the same Storage, HP Lefthand SAN.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18356
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Post by foggy » May 11, 2016 4:51 pm

We are not talking about replicating from backup anymore, right?

If I'm understanding your scenario right, you could replicate the VM excluding all its disks, turn the VM off, re-attach disks to its replica and perform failover. However this is just in theory, never tried anything like that.

EugeneK
Veeam Software
Posts: 143
Liked: 33 times
Joined: Mar 19, 2016 10:57 pm
Full Name: Eugene Kashperovetskyi
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Post by EugeneK » May 11, 2016 7:17 pm

The excluded disks may be picked up by the OS completely differently once re-attached to the new VM shell on the new host - since the config will no longer match, you may run into boot issues. For the most part, it depends on how Guest OS treats those drives and what those drives are to the OS.
Eugene K
VMCA, VCIX-DCV, vExpert

frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 889
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Post by frankive » May 12, 2016 7:05 am

I will try to follow a best pratice migration from Microsoft for this migration to new cluster :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests