Replica instead of synchronized storage

Hyper-V specific discussions

Replica instead of synchronized storage

Veeam Logoby frankive » Fri May 06, 2016 5:07 pm

To keep the storage cost down we want to use veeam b&r to replicate our temrinalservers to a secondary storage location daily(nightly).
We want to run the replication once each day but not to touch the production environment. We are also backing up the VMs from the production nightly and would like to use these backup files to have a replication copy ready to fire up.
I know how to seed the first time, but is it possible to Veeam to seed from the backup also on every incremental after? So the replica won't hit the production environment?

Thanks.
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 718
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri May 06, 2016 5:18 pm

Frank, this is exactly what replica from backup does.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Veeam Logoby frankive » Fri May 06, 2016 5:47 pm

i can not see anywhere during creation of the replication job or in the manual where i can choose where to get the backup files? only at the first screen (but that is just replica seeding)
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 718
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Veeam Logoby frankive » Fri May 06, 2016 6:01 pm

Just found it :)
It was in the window where I choose virtual machines to replicate.
Choose VM, mark it with your mouse so it turns blue, and choose source on the right side.. then pick the backup files..
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 718
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri May 06, 2016 8:44 pm

foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Veeam Logoby frankive » Tue May 10, 2016 10:06 am

Is it possible to failover particular machines of a replication job or is the failover pr. job?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 718
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 10, 2016 10:53 am

You can select and failover any single or several VMs.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Veeam Logoby frankive » Tue May 10, 2016 11:07 am

so if i have a replication job with 10 vms, I can choose to only failover one particular vm in that job?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 718
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 10, 2016 11:14 am

foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Veeam Logoby frankive » Wed May 11, 2016 1:52 pm

is it possible to replicate just the vm and not the harddrives?
we are looking for to migrate a 2008 R2 hyper-v cluster to a New 2012 R2 cluster. They shared the same Storage, HP Lefthand SAN.
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 718
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed May 11, 2016 4:51 pm

We are not talking about replicating from backup anymore, right?

If I'm understanding your scenario right, you could replicate the VM excluding all its disks, turn the VM off, re-attach disks to its replica and perform failover. However this is just in theory, never tried anything like that.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Veeam Logoby EugeneK » Wed May 11, 2016 7:17 pm

The excluded disks may be picked up by the OS completely differently once re-attached to the new VM shell on the new host - since the config will no longer match, you may run into boot issues. For the most part, it depends on how Guest OS treats those drives and what those drives are to the OS.
Eugene K
Product Architect @ SingleHop - Veeam Platinum Service Provider
http://www.singlehop.com
VCAP-DCD, VCAP-DCA, VCP-NV
Veeam Certified Architect
EugeneK
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 102
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 10:57 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Full Name: Eugene Kashperovetskyi

Re: Replica instead of synchronized storage

Veeam Logoby frankive » Thu May 12, 2016 7:05 am

I will try to follow a best pratice migration from Microsoft for this migration to new cluster :)
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 718
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests