Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
nixoidas
Service Provider
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: May 24, 2017 12:29 pm
Full Name: Mantas
Contact:

Replicas migration to another repository

Post by nixoidas » Oct 17, 2017 8:42 am

Hello,

I have seen posts regarding movement of Replicas Metadata. That is clear. I have been struggling for a while with trying to relocate-migrate replicas folders (hard disk imgae file, AVHD files, fodlers snapshots, virtual machines, ide disks, ect). I would like to know how to move these folders (vm_replica) to another repository. We added new repository so we could format the old one. All backup jobs, backup copy jobs were migrated successfully.

What I did. I tried to migrate replicas as any other regular backup job. I moved folders of replicas I mentioned earlier to another repository. Rescanned both repositories. In replica settings I chose another repository, for "destination", even tried "picking path" for vitual disks... Still, when I run replica job, even though veeam shows status "Inc", it still creates another hard disk image file with another AVHD file. Also, worth mentioning, but it is not important, when I change replica metadata location, another foldeer is created with .vbk file. Not like it should be - in the same folder.

Please help me. I am workig with Veeam for quite a while, but never migrated replicas to another location.

nixoidas
Service Provider
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: May 24, 2017 12:29 pm
Full Name: Mantas
Contact:

Re: Replicas migration to another repository

Post by nixoidas » Oct 17, 2017 8:46 am

By the way, almost forgot, when I chose another repository in replica settings, I got warning message something like this "Only newly added vm's will be affected". If I understand it correctly, this means that I cannot move existing backups of replica job to another location? I need to create new replia job and start everything from scrath. We have many replica jobs containing hundres of TB...

All I want is replica job to keep running like before only in new repository.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18295
Liked: 1569 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replicas migration to another repository

Post by foggy » Oct 17, 2017 3:44 pm

Have you tried to map the replication job to existing replica VM? Basically, if you just change the VM files location and the VM itself is still correctly registered on the host, the job will continue normally after mapping.

nixoidas
Service Provider
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: May 24, 2017 12:29 pm
Full Name: Mantas
Contact:

Re: Replicas migration to another repository

Post by nixoidas » Oct 18, 2017 6:31 am

Replica mapping is not an option for me.

I would like to share what helped to solve this problem. In Huper-V manager I migrated (moved) VM to the new datastore (veeam repository). VM did not need to be reregistered and replica job runs smoothly now. I noticed one minor problem, in replica job's settings I did not change destination, it still shows old repository. However, replica job runs without problems. If I try to change destination, again "Only newly added vm's will be affected" :)

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18295
Liked: 1569 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replicas migration to another repository

Post by foggy » Oct 18, 2017 11:48 am

By repository, are you referring to repository where replica metadata is stored or the folder where replica VM disks are stored?

nixoidas
Service Provider
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: May 24, 2017 12:29 pm
Full Name: Mantas
Contact:

Re: Replicas migration to another repository

Post by nixoidas » Oct 23, 2017 11:22 am

Yes, I am reffering to folder where VM disks are stored. I finally understood that I should have used VM Migrate option in veeam to migrate replicas to another repository.

mog54
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: May 28, 2018 10:30 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] Change replica storage

Post by mog54 » May 29, 2018 10:07 am

hello,

i got an hyperv 2016 without cluster, and originaly replica of VM were stored localy on hyperv (D:\) i ran out of space on this partion so i want to move another partition (E:\) wich is a isci lun on nas.

i edited job but thats not work.
i copy paste the D:\replica folder to e:\replica folder, thats change nothing
i tried to move VM for hyperv manager but after moving vm the folder on e:\replicat is not the same as the d:\replica

So i asking myself if i'm doing right or not

someone to help me ? :)
thanks

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5267
Liked: 461 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Replicas migration to another repository

Post by P.Tide » May 29, 2018 11:27 am

Hi and welcome to the community,

Please check this thread first, and feel free to ask additional questions.

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: manfri and 5 guests