Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
WDPeelus
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 21, 2018 10:05 am
Contact:

Replicating from Replica to Source?

Post by WDPeelus » Jan 04, 2019 3:17 pm

I'm in the process of planning / documenting our failover and failback approach when using Veeam Replicas. I'm trying to avoid using the option 'Failback to Production' because it makes it difficult to schedule a downtime Window. For example

If I failover to DR and the VMs sit in DR for 1 week, the amount of data that would have to be moved when replicating back to production would be quite large. Using fail back to production there is no easy way to gauge how long this replication would take and no easy way to schedule the downtime of each VM replicated back. Instead it would be better to perform an initial replication without shutting down the DR vms, and then perform a failback as the window becomes a little more predictable (and much smaller).

Is there anyway I can achieve something close to the above?

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4663
Liked: 386 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Replicating from Replica to Source?

Post by PTide » Jan 04, 2019 5:27 pm

Hi,
If I failover to DR and the VMs sit in DR for 1 week<...>
In case you expect the VMs work on DR for 1 week, I'd suggest to perform permanent failover. Once you are ready to move the VMs back to the main site, you can use replica mapping.

Thanks!

WDPeelus
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 21, 2018 10:05 am
Contact:

Re: Replicating from Replica to Source?

Post by WDPeelus » Jan 14, 2019 12:18 pm

Thanks for that - I thought that might be the answer but just wanted to double check.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests