Replication from one to another host

Hyper-V specific discussions

Replication from one to another host

Veeam Logoby raycarterin » Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:06 pm

My both host are stand alone both have 1 VM running. Now i am testing with Replication if i start Replication then my VM will keep running on source or it will saved???. i am new to veeam Replication.

veeam backup works awesome. bit its time to work with Replication
raycarterin
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid

Re: Replication from one to another host

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:09 pm

Replication is the process of copying a VM from its primary location (source host) to a destination location (redundant target host). Veeam Backup & Replication creates an exact copy of the VM (replica), registers it on the target host and maintains it in sync with the original VM.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14753
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replication from one to another host

Veeam Logoby raycarterin » Fri Nov 15, 2013 4:19 am

is this function allowed in trial mode. if i just want to move running vm to another host without downtime. then Replication will work for migration.
raycarterin
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid

Re: Replication from one to another host

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Nov 15, 2013 6:18 am

Yes, trial mode does not have any limitations regarding functionality. And yes, you can use replication to migrate VM between hosts.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14753
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replication from one to another host

Veeam Logoby raycarterin » Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:58 am

but how i can migrate there is no option for migrate and i don't have any cluster only 2 stand alone host (Hyper-V). what can i do if i want to migrate running virtual machine to another host. and if i migrate in between virtual machine get offline or remain online for users. i have hyper-v host. i have read in build help and there is noting about hyper-v migration.
raycarterin
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid

Re: Replication from one to another host

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Nov 15, 2013 8:31 am

If you're talking about migration with no downtime (live migration), then there's no such functionality for Hyper-V environments available in Veeam B&R currently. However, what I was talking about is using replication to migrate VM between hosts (this, however, means some VM downtime in case you do not want to lose changes occurred between VM snapshot and failover).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14753
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replication from one to another host

Veeam Logoby raycarterin » Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:33 am

ok. thanks for help. last one. if i have replicate my vm let's say my sql server from hostA to hostB and not i want to keep my sql server on host2 only then what can do i just have to stop replication or i have to do anything else.
raycarterin
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid

Re: Replication from one to another host

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:36 am

You can perform permanent failover, leaving the workload on the target host and letting the replica VM act as the original VM.
Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13295
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Replication from one to another host

Veeam Logoby raycarterin » Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:39 am

That mean if i start replica then entire traffic redirect to new host where my vm is replicating ???. and what if i want to keep my replicated machine on targeted host only and remove from source. what should i do.
raycarterin
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid

Re: Replication from one to another host

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:44 am

raycarterin wrote:and what if i want to keep my replicated machine on targeted host only and remove from source. what should i do.

Remove the original VM.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14753
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replication from one to another host

Veeam Logoby raycarterin » Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:49 am

ok. if i stop replication job to remove source machine then entire users are connected to replicated machine or they are redirected to source machine???
raycarterin
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid

Re: Replication from one to another host

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:03 am

You should ensure that users are routed to the new VM manually. Also, on permanent failover, Veeam B&R automatically reconfigures replication job adding the original VM to exclusions.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14753
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replication from one to another host

Veeam Logoby ramscards05 » Fri Nov 15, 2013 1:34 pm

Foggy,
Windows Server 2012 has replication built into the operating system.
Do you feel that B&R replication would perform better and that is the route I should go?

Thanks,
ramscards05
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 6:15 pm

Re: Replication from one to another host

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Nov 15, 2013 3:15 pm

Each approach has its pros and cons. You can review this topic for detailed list of differences between them and decide what you like better.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14753
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] : Live migration with Hyper-V options

Veeam Logoby Blade1 » Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:36 pm

Hi,


I have a trial of Veeam B & R v8 running on a VM of a Hyper-V 2012 R2 server (the free version). What I'd like to do is a live migration of all VMs (although in a certain order!) of my VMs to a new Hyper-V 2012 R2 host, in another datacenter. Both hosts are standalone (i.e. not clustered). The target host will be a member of the same domain when the domain controllers are migrated.

What I'd like to know is how to do this. I've found this link - http://hyperv.veeam.com/how-perform-liv ... l-machine/ - is this what I need? Also, the link to automating this is broken.

Also, is there a process to do the last bit (Permanent Failover)?
Blade1
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:28 pm
Full Name: Gurdip Sira

Next

Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DGrinev and 18 guests