Replication: Setup backup after failover

Hyper-V specific discussions

Replication: Setup backup after failover

Veeam Logoby elimat » Fri Sep 19, 2014 7:20 am

Hi All,

I'm a new member to the veeam Community. I have searched the fourms but could not find answer to my question so hoping you can help me.

I have one Hyper-V host on Site A which replicaticate to Hyper-V host on Site B.

When doing a failover to Site B, will the Changes made after the failover to Site B be backed up in any way on the failedover site?

I mean that we might have the server running on the replica host for a few Days for the production server to be fixed.

Thanks for any help.

/Matthias
elimat
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 7:01 am
Full Name: Matthias Eliasson

Re: Replication: Setup backup after failover

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Sep 19, 2014 7:43 am

Hi, Matthias. Are you probably talking here about automated way to switch from replica VM back to production one? If so, we do have such functionality, and it's called failback. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Replication: Setup backup after failover

Veeam Logoby elimat » Mon Sep 22, 2014 6:40 am

Hi v.Eremin,

Thanks for your reply. I am sorry if I was not so clear in my question.

What I was meening is if we have an issue in production and do a failover to DR site. Is the the replica that we have failed over to backed up in anyway so if when it runs there and a user accidently removes a file we can restore it to the Active replica and then later failback to production site when we issue is resolved there.

I hope I was a bit more clear now in my question.

Thanks.
elimat
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 7:01 am
Full Name: Matthias Eliasson

Re: Replication: Setup backup after failover

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Sep 22, 2014 7:58 am

elimat wrote:Is the the replica that we have failed over to backed up in anyway?

All changes made after failover are written to the delta file. So, you can easily revert everything back, should need be.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Replication: Setup backup after failover

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:37 am

elimat wrote:Is the the replica that we have failed over to backed up in anyway so if when it runs there and a user accidently removes a file we can restore it to the Active replica and then later failback to production site when we issue is resolved there.

If you're referring to how to protect failed over replica VM, then you can definitely back it up in order not to lose any changes.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Replication: Setup backup after failover

Veeam Logoby elimat » Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:54 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:If you're referring to how to protect failed over replica VM, then you can definitely back it up in order not to lose any changes.


Yes this is what I was talking about. Is this done automaticly or do I need to setup a backup job for the failover vm so I also have a "regular backup job" on the replicated VM?

Thanks,
Matthias
elimat
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 7:01 am
Full Name: Matthias Eliasson

Re: Replication: Setup backup after failover

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:55 am

elimat wrote:Is this done automaticly or do I need to setup a backup job for the failover vm so I also have a "regular backup job" on the replicated VM?

Second.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Replication: Setup backup after failover

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:56 am

Yes, you need to setup a regular job for this VM. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Replication: Setup backup after failover

Veeam Logoby elimat » Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:00 am

Thanks for the prompt answer
elimat
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 7:01 am
Full Name: Matthias Eliasson


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests