Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
mr2nut123
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 08, 2013 8:44 am
Contact:

Resize vhdx

Post by mr2nut123 »

Just a quick question. When I resize a gen2 machine on the fly (shrink from disk management inside the vm, then shrink in Hyper-V Manager), Veeam backups then fail because the block size is different. Is there any way to update that backup job to succeed rather than having to create a new job?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24075
Liked: 1807 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Resize vhdx

Post by Vitaliy S. » 1 person likes this post

Try to initiate a new full job pass for this VM, in this case new job creation might not be required.

mr2nut123
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 08, 2013 8:44 am
Contact:

Re: Resize vhdx

Post by mr2nut123 »

Cheers. Is that a case of right clicking the job, then selecting active full..?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24075
Liked: 1807 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Resize vhdx

Post by Vitaliy S. » 1 person likes this post

Yes, that's right. Please be aware that it will initiate full backup for all VMs in the job. Please let us know how it goes.

mr2nut123
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 08, 2013 8:44 am
Contact:

Re: Resize vhdx

Post by mr2nut123 »

Thanks, I'll give it a try next time I'm at the clients. Feel free to close the thread now :)

jhowlett
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 28, 2018 9:35 am
Full Name: James Howlett
Contact:

[MERGED] What is the impact on backups in Veeam B&R if I resize a VHD in HyperV

Post by jhowlett »

As the topic states really, I have not really found a concrete answer to this, does it invalidate your backups?

Or will it just carry on backing up as normal?

DGrinev
Expert
Posts: 1943
Liked: 248 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: What is the impact on backups in Veeam B&R if I resize a VHD in HyperV

Post by DGrinev »

Hey James and welcome to the community!

You should initiate an active full run or the job will fail.
Please review this thread for additional information. Thanks!

jhowlett
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 28, 2018 9:35 am
Full Name: James Howlett
Contact:

Re: Resize vhdx

Post by jhowlett »

Thanks good to be here!

So.. after a full backup all my history and backups will still be intact?

DGrinev
Expert
Posts: 1943
Liked: 248 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Resize vhdx

Post by DGrinev »

James, can you elaborate a bit, did you resize the disk when the machine was turned off or on?

jhowlett
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 28, 2018 9:35 am
Full Name: James Howlett
Contact:

Re: Resize vhdx

Post by jhowlett »

OK no problem, so a bit of background, We have Veeam B&R 9.5 and we have a HyperV cluster which is backed up with Veeam, we also have LUNs which are backed up by Veeam and everything looks good.

The question is:

If I expand any of the backed up sources HyperV or Agent LUNS "which will change the drive geometry" will Veeam see this as a new disk and not the original thus causing it to remove all current history / snapshots and backups etc?

I have not actually tried this yet luckily but would like to think this is a normal operating model and did not want any surprises ;)

DGrinev
Expert
Posts: 1943
Liked: 248 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Resize vhdx

Post by DGrinev »

There are 2 possible scenarios:
1. Expand was initiated on the live system - in this case, it's mandatory to shutdown the VM by using Hyper-V Manager (don't reboot it via Guest Restart), then manually initiate an Active Full.
2. Expand has been performed on the turned off machine - this way you can continue the backup process without triggering a new active full. Thanks!

jhowlett
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 28, 2018 9:35 am
Full Name: James Howlett
Contact:

Re: Resize vhdx

Post by jhowlett »

Thats great thank you :)

jamesbranch
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 05, 2012 11:32 am
Full Name: James Branch
Contact:

[MERGED] New backups needed when disk sizes change?

Post by jamesbranch »

Hi all,

Just a quick one... if/when a volume/disk changes size on a VM, do we need to take a new FULL backup??

Thanks
James

Natalia Lupacheva
Veeam Software
Posts: 138
Liked: 42 times
Joined: Apr 27, 2020 12:46 pm
Full Name: Natalia Lupacheva
Contact:

Re: Resize vhdx

Post by Natalia Lupacheva »

Hi James,

It is not required to run Full backup after disk resize.
The first backup process after disk resize will be run as usual incremental backup.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: charwah and 6 guests