Restore error : No Disks have been mounted

Hyper-V specific discussions

Restore error : No Disks have been mounted

Veeam Logoby jorgene » Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:48 pm

Hi,

I run Veeam B&R 6.0. Backed up a virtual guest W2008 R2 server running on a W2008 Hyper-V.
When i try the "restore guest files (windows)" i get the following error:

"No Disks have been mounted. Either disks of this type aren't supported
or some error occured. See log file for details."

When i tried this in a LAB environment i got i to work perfectly. Only thing that differs is that on the lab environment i had Hyper-V installed on the same server as Veeam B&R though i backed up i Virtual server running on another Hyper-V server.

Which log file should i check for further details ?

I also rebooted the Veeam B&R server, error still persist.
jorgene
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 73
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 1:39 pm
Full Name: Jorgen Eriksson

Re: Restore error ...

Veeam Logoby jorgene » Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:10 pm

Resolved !

Looks like Symantec "fucked my registry up" ... anyway i also had problems mounting VHD files in Disk Manager also .. so suspected that the built in API for vhdmount was used by Veeam B&R ..
So when this was solved .. Veeam B&R error was gone to.

To work around these problems, FSDepends.sys should be set to a start value of Boot (0x0).

Make sure that you back up the registry before you change it.
Make sure that you know how to restore the registry if a problem occurs.

To work around these problems, follow these steps:
1) Start Registry Editor.
2) Visit the following registry key: “HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\FsDepends”
3) Under the “FsDepends” key, change REG_DWORD value “Start” from “3” to “0”
4) Restart the computer
jorgene
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 73
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 1:39 pm
Full Name: Jorgen Eriksson

Re: Restore error ...

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Jan 26, 2012 8:14 pm

Jorgen, thank you for coming back and updating this topic with a resolution.

jorgene wrote:Looks like Symantec "fucked my registry up"

I LOVE this quote! :D
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Restore error ...

Veeam Logoby pgitdept » Tue May 08, 2012 3:29 pm

jorgene wrote:Looks like Symantec "fucked my registry up" ...

Quote of the year right there!

Thank you very much for that. I would like to confirm that the same is apparent on VMware as well. We have just recently migrated from ESXi4.1 with VMFS3 to ESXi5 with VMFS5.

Our backups and FLR (Windows) were working fantastic prior to the migration however we have just gone to do a FLR Windows and got the error. Modified the registry, rebooted and then all was good so thank you!

Everything else worked (SureBackup, FLR Other etc) just couldn't FLR Windows.
pgitdept
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:29 am
Full Name: PGITDept

Re: Restore error : No Disks have been mounted

Veeam Logoby wwismans » Thu Feb 27, 2014 12:28 pm 1 person likes this post

I could fix the issue by uninstalling VDK in the W2K8 OS.

Start command prompt;
Go to %programfiles%\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Backup;
Start vdk remove;

Now it works for me :)
wwismans
Service Provider
 
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 11:42 am
Full Name: Willem Wismans


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests