Restoring a DC to a different host with Veeam?

Hyper-V specific discussions

Restoring a DC to a different host with Veeam?

Veeam Logoby slewis1972 » Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:24 pm

Ok, I have a virtual Windows 2003 DC on a Windows 2008 R2 server. I need to rebuild the server with Windows 2012 R2 that I have on my other hyper-v servers.

I have 2 DC's on this site but this DC is the primary. So I either backup with Veeam and restore it on the other Hyper-V server (Windwos 2012 R2), or just shut it down, rebuild the server and restore the Veeam DC backup. I dont want to do a upgrade as would prefer a clean install.

Any advice?

Scott
slewis1972
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 10:34 am
Full Name: Scott Lewis

Re: Restoring a DC to a different host with Veeam?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Nov 20, 2013 4:33 pm

Scott, you can either backup and restore the DC to the new host or replicate it to one of the other existing ones.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Restoring a DC to a different host with Veeam?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Nov 21, 2013 8:27 am

Either way, make sure Application Aware Image Processing option is enabled, as this functionality guarantees backup transactional consistency of such VMs running special MS applications (DC, Exchange, SQL, etc.).

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests