Retry job for 1 VM only

Hyper-V specific discussions

Retry job for 1 VM only

Veeam Logoby sambsamb » Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:04 am

I have a backup job setup for a 2012 R2 Hyper-V cluster. The cluster has a dozen or so VMs. Sometimes backup is successful except for only 1 VM. Is there a way to retry only the failed VM(s) instead of retrying the entire job including all other VMs that were backed successfully?
Thanks
Sam Boutros, Senior Consultant, Software Logic, KOP, PA
http://superwidgets.wordpress.com
Powershell: Learn it before it's an emergency
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/scriptcenter/powershell.aspx
sambsamb
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 5:41 am
Location: KOP, PA
Full Name: Sam Boutros

Re: Retry job for 1 VM only

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:07 am

Sam, only failed VMs should be retried during job retry attempts. Are you observing different behavior?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Retry job for 1 VM only

Veeam Logoby sambsamb » Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:12 am

Thank you for the quick reply.
The job is set for the cluster, not for individual hosts or VMs.
When I click retry, it retires the whole job including VMs that were backed up successfully..
Is there a way to upload screen shots here?
Sam Boutros, Senior Consultant, Software Logic, KOP, PA
http://superwidgets.wordpress.com
Powershell: Learn it before it's an emergency
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/scriptcenter/powershell.aspx
sambsamb
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 5:41 am
Location: KOP, PA
Full Name: Sam Boutros

Re: Retry job for 1 VM only

Veeam Logoby chrisdearden » Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:18 am

Was the job scheduled or manually started? Have you set auto retry in the job wizard?
chrisdearden
Expert
 
Posts: 1529
Liked: 225 times
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Chris Dearden

Re: Retry job for 1 VM only

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:21 am

The behavior should not depend on the way you add VMs into the job. Are you sure all the VMs are actually backed up during retry? Are you using the Retry command on the job's shortcut menu?

You can use [img] tag to post pictures here.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Retry job for 1 VM only

Veeam Logoby sambsamb » Mon Oct 27, 2014 12:11 pm

The job is for entire cluster:
Image
It's a manual job:
Image
Here's how the job looks like after it's finished:
Image
Retry:
Image

Actually, never mind, it's retying the one VM now.. May be I missed something before.

At any rate, do you know what this "AgentProvider.AgentclosedException" error is about?

Thanks
Sam Boutros, Senior Consultant, Software Logic, KOP, PA
http://superwidgets.wordpress.com
Powershell: Learn it before it's an emergency
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/scriptcenter/powershell.aspx
sambsamb
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 5:41 am
Location: KOP, PA
Full Name: Sam Boutros

Re: Retry job for 1 VM only

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Oct 27, 2014 12:15 pm

Hard to say without logs review. Support will be able to help with this.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests