Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
rverhe
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 01, 2014 12:50 pm
Full Name: Rob Verhees
Contact:

SCVMM 2012 to SCVMM 2016 migration

Post by rverhe » Apr 25, 2018 7:44 am

Hello Folks,

Using SCVMM integration for Veeam. And now we want to migrate to our brand new SCVMM2016 environment..

When doing this all VM's are gettin a new VMM ID, so Veeam see all the VMs as new and unique.
This means all jobs need to be recreated and having a new full backup. We cant have this high load, and have this capacity not available for a full backup for all of the jobs!

Very, dissapointed with the Veeam support answer...

"Maybe it is not that simple :) or there is another reason why it still does not exist. And of course we have this kind of requests from other clients periodically. I suppose, that such kind of tool hasn't been developed because the number of Hyper-V environments is much less then vmWare. I think it would be worth posting your request to our official forum. Because when the appropriate number of requests is accumulated it could become a signal for action.
Here is the link to vmWare migration tool - https://www.veeam.com/kb2136
"

Anyone here have some experience with this situation??
For now we are stuck with upgrading :(.

nmdange
Expert
Posts: 468
Liked: 113 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm
Contact:

Re: SCVMM 2012 to SCVMM 2016 migration

Post by nmdange » Apr 25, 2018 1:15 pm

Any reason you can't upgrade your VMM? It's pretty easy even if you want to move VMM to new hardware/OS. Just run the VMM installer and point it at the existing database.

rverhe
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 01, 2014 12:50 pm
Full Name: Rob Verhees
Contact:

Re: SCVMM 2012 to SCVMM 2016 migration

Post by rverhe » Apr 26, 2018 5:22 am

nmdange wrote:Any reason you can't upgrade your VMM? It's pretty easy even if you want to move VMM to new hardware/OS. Just run the VMM installer and point it at the existing database.
Read my full message please. Upgrading VMM is not the problem..
The problem is every VM gets a new ID, so VEEAM sees every VM as a new VM.
SO: New full backup needed for our full Hyper-v farm! We cant manage this high load and needed extra capacity. While it can be pretty easy if you can change some VM id's in the Veeam or VMM database..

nmdange
Expert
Posts: 468
Liked: 113 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm
Contact:

Re: SCVMM 2012 to SCVMM 2016 migration

Post by nmdange » Apr 26, 2018 1:55 pm 2 people like this post

No you said you are migrating to a new VMM installation. If you upgrade in-place, you will not lose the VM IDs.

rverhe
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 01, 2014 12:50 pm
Full Name: Rob Verhees
Contact:

Re: SCVMM 2012 to SCVMM 2016 migration

Post by rverhe » Apr 30, 2018 5:26 am

Sorry, you are right. But no its a brand new installation, we need to install everything seperate because we have Azure Pack with many custom made add-ons with other dependencies.
Anyone ideas?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16867
Liked: 1429 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: SCVMM 2012 to SCVMM 2016 migration

Post by veremin » May 01, 2018 2:07 pm

Migrated VMs will inevitably get new IDs and thus will be considered as new ones from backup server's perspective.

If you're using reversed incremental mode, even though VMs will have different IDs, VMs' data will be deduplicated in the full backup file if you map the new jobs to the existing backup chains, so will not consume double space.

Otherwise (other backup mode), full backup will be created.

Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests