Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
rverhe
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 01, 2014 12:50 pm
Full Name: Rob Verhees
Contact:

SCVMM 2012 to SCVMM 2016 migration

Post by rverhe » Apr 25, 2018 7:44 am

Hello Folks,

Using SCVMM integration for Veeam. And now we want to migrate to our brand new SCVMM2016 environment..

When doing this all VM's are gettin a new VMM ID, so Veeam see all the VMs as new and unique.
This means all jobs need to be recreated and having a new full backup. We cant have this high load, and have this capacity not available for a full backup for all of the jobs!

Very, dissapointed with the Veeam support answer...

"Maybe it is not that simple :) or there is another reason why it still does not exist. And of course we have this kind of requests from other clients periodically. I suppose, that such kind of tool hasn't been developed because the number of Hyper-V environments is much less then vmWare. I think it would be worth posting your request to our official forum. Because when the appropriate number of requests is accumulated it could become a signal for action.
Here is the link to vmWare migration tool - https://www.veeam.com/kb2136
"

Anyone here have some experience with this situation??
For now we are stuck with upgrading :(.

nmdange
Expert
Posts: 493
Liked: 126 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm
Contact:

Re: SCVMM 2012 to SCVMM 2016 migration

Post by nmdange » Apr 25, 2018 1:15 pm

Any reason you can't upgrade your VMM? It's pretty easy even if you want to move VMM to new hardware/OS. Just run the VMM installer and point it at the existing database.

rverhe
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 01, 2014 12:50 pm
Full Name: Rob Verhees
Contact:

Re: SCVMM 2012 to SCVMM 2016 migration

Post by rverhe » Apr 26, 2018 5:22 am

nmdange wrote:Any reason you can't upgrade your VMM? It's pretty easy even if you want to move VMM to new hardware/OS. Just run the VMM installer and point it at the existing database.
Read my full message please. Upgrading VMM is not the problem..
The problem is every VM gets a new ID, so VEEAM sees every VM as a new VM.
SO: New full backup needed for our full Hyper-v farm! We cant manage this high load and needed extra capacity. While it can be pretty easy if you can change some VM id's in the Veeam or VMM database..

nmdange
Expert
Posts: 493
Liked: 126 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm
Contact:

Re: SCVMM 2012 to SCVMM 2016 migration

Post by nmdange » Apr 26, 2018 1:55 pm 2 people like this post

No you said you are migrating to a new VMM installation. If you upgrade in-place, you will not lose the VM IDs.

rverhe
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 01, 2014 12:50 pm
Full Name: Rob Verhees
Contact:

Re: SCVMM 2012 to SCVMM 2016 migration

Post by rverhe » Apr 30, 2018 5:26 am

Sorry, you are right. But no its a brand new installation, we need to install everything seperate because we have Azure Pack with many custom made add-ons with other dependencies.
Anyone ideas?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17625
Liked: 1591 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: SCVMM 2012 to SCVMM 2016 migration

Post by veremin » May 01, 2018 2:07 pm

Migrated VMs will inevitably get new IDs and thus will be considered as new ones from backup server's perspective.

If you're using reversed incremental mode, even though VMs will have different IDs, VMs' data will be deduplicated in the full backup file if you map the new jobs to the existing backup chains, so will not consume double space.

Otherwise (other backup mode), full backup will be created.

Thanks.

craig1712
Service Provider
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 08, 2011 11:14 am
Contact:

[MERGED] Repointing backups after replica failover.

Post by craig1712 » Mar 18, 2020 9:23 am

Hi,

I am at the moment using Veeam to backup a set of hyper-v vms. I am moving the VMS to another datacenter and using Veeam replication to do this. Once I have failed the VM's over and made the failover permanent I want to add the replicated VMS in to the backup job that was backing up the original servers.

Will Veeam see these VMS as new VMS or will it be able to carry on using the same backup chain?

Thanks

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23865
Liked: 1751 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Repointing backups after replica failover.

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 18, 2020 9:44 am

Hi Craig,

Since these VMs are replicated (preserving original VMs), then you will need to run a new full backup. Please see Vladimir's reply above for more info.

Thanks!

craig1712
Service Provider
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 08, 2011 11:14 am
Contact:

Re: SCVMM 2012 to SCVMM 2016 migration

Post by craig1712 » Mar 18, 2020 1:23 pm

great thanks, that makes sense. So if I am keeping 31 days of retention, should I set remove deleted Items data to 31 days aswell?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23865
Liked: 1751 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: SCVMM 2012 to SCVMM 2016 migration

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 18, 2020 3:58 pm

Yes, if you need to keep these backups for that period of time.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests