Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
stack111
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 18, 2018 8:15 am
Full Name: Ahmad Jayyusi

Size needed for restoring a VM

Post by stack111 » Sep 12, 2018 3:36 pm

Hi,

I have a VM with four fixed VHDX files configured and total size of 21.3 TB, the used space in these four VHDX files is around 165 GB, is a space of 200 GB enough for doing a restore for this VM for testing or we need to present a LUN of 22.3 TB which is same as VHDX files total size?

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5759
Liked: 615 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Size needed for restoring a VM

Post by Mike Resseler » Sep 13, 2018 5:18 am

Hello Ahmad,

If I read correctly, I see that those four disks are fixed. Which means their actual size (also today) is 21.3 TB. So I am afraid you will need that size to be able to do the restore.

stack111
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 18, 2018 8:15 am
Full Name: Ahmad Jayyusi

Re: Size needed for restoring a VM

Post by stack111 » Sep 13, 2018 5:57 am

Hi Mike,

The problem is that our customer does not have a 21.5 TB available space to test restore for this VM,...

Isn't there any way to test the restore for the whole VM without having this needed space?

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5759
Liked: 615 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Size needed for restoring a VM

Post by Mike Resseler » Sep 14, 2018 5:31 am

Ahmad,

Is it only for a test? In that case I suggest that you look into datalabs. https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

This is a much easier way of testing your backups, can be fully automated and tests can be performed inside. Did you already looked at this?

stack111
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 18, 2018 8:15 am
Full Name: Ahmad Jayyusi

Re: Size needed for restoring a VM

Post by stack111 » Sep 14, 2018 8:16 am

Mike,

This is for test only to verify and confirm success of restore in case of a disaster.

I did not check SureBackup before, I will check it and see how to use it.

Thanks

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5759
Liked: 615 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Size needed for restoring a VM

Post by Mike Resseler » Sep 17, 2018 6:27 am

That is exactly what SureBackup does so please check it out and let us know!

stack111
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 18, 2018 8:15 am
Full Name: Ahmad Jayyusi

Re: Size needed for restoring a VM

Post by stack111 » Sep 17, 2018 6:31 am

Yeah I checked it but it failed, I logged a case with Veeam support, they informed the below

"The failure is due to the fact that the VM was not started in the allotted time. SureBackup is a technology that heavily depends on random Read/Write I/O, meaning that if a storage device can not provide that appropriate level of I/O the technology will have trouble performing as expected. There is no "fix" that veeam can provide to speed up the datadomain's random read/write I/O to make the SureBackup run faster."

They asked me to update Veeam to the latest version which is 9.5.0.1922 and try the surebackup job from the newest restore point, I am currently upgrading Veeam to the lates version then will check after that if anything changes.

stack111
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 18, 2018 8:15 am
Full Name: Ahmad Jayyusi

Re: Size needed for restoring a VM

Post by stack111 » Sep 17, 2018 8:19 am

I upgraded Veeam to the latest version 9.5.0.1922 and tried again but same error...

csydas
Expert
Posts: 193
Liked: 46 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2018 5:14 pm
Full Name: Harvey Carel
Contact:

Re: Size needed for restoring a VM

Post by csydas » Sep 17, 2018 2:12 pm

stack111 wrote:
Sep 17, 2018 6:31 am
the datadomain's
Ouch :) Sorry man, but there's your problem right there. Dedupe + SureBackup is always a headache. The DataDomains are great for long-term retention, but only the high-ends are usable for a lot of the cooler functions of Veeam like SureBackup and Instant Recovery.

You can either try increasing the wait for boot timeout to an outrageously large number, or just try an instant recovery and wait until it shows.

Sorry to say, but it sounds like just an unfortunate architectural situation here. You don't want to hear this, I'm sure, but you might want to look into a dedicated local repository (ReFS or BTRFS) and use it as a short term backup for this server.

stack111
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 18, 2018 8:15 am
Full Name: Ahmad Jayyusi

Re: Size needed for restoring a VM

Post by stack111 » Sep 17, 2018 3:10 pm

The problem is that we have two veeam servers, each one connected to an EMC datadomain with deduplication enabled, all VMs are stored on this backup repository, this is a big issue indeed...

If we try an instant recovery, do we need a space equal to the actual VM size or higher a little bit on a host or this is not needed?

csydas
Expert
Posts: 193
Liked: 46 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2018 5:14 pm
Full Name: Harvey Carel
Contact:

Re: Size needed for restoring a VM

Post by csydas » Sep 17, 2018 4:01 pm

No space on the actual datastore should be needed - it runs 100% off the backup repository since Veeam makes a VMware NFS datastore via the vPower NFS Datastore thing you set up during a Repository set up. So Instant Recovery should work without you needing additional space on production.

I see you're HyperV though, so I __think__ it's the same, but not entirely sure.

stack111
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 18, 2018 8:15 am
Full Name: Ahmad Jayyusi

Re: Size needed for restoring a VM

Post by stack111 » Sep 17, 2018 4:59 pm

I tried instant VM recovery on the VM..it took around 17 minutes for the VM to boot (to the state it asks for username and password); the performance is bad...might be because it is being read from deduplicated EMC data domain.

But during the instant recovery wizard, it do ask for a place to store the restored VM files, so at the end it needs space (new LUN)..

Regnor
Service Provider
Posts: 331
Liked: 66 times
Joined: Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am
Full Name: Max
Contact:

Re: Size needed for restoring a VM

Post by Regnor » Sep 17, 2018 5:35 pm

This is only meant for caching and storing changes; all other data is read from the backup files.

Performance of all types of restores decreases on dedup appliances. Because of that it's recommended to have a smaller and faster disk space where you store the most current backups and do all disaster restores. The dedup appliances are secondary targets for long term retention.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5759
Liked: 615 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Size needed for restoring a VM

Post by Mike Resseler » Sep 18, 2018 5:49 am

Regnor is correct.

You don't want to modify your backup file so we store the differences somewhere else. It won't be that much unless you decide to go testing updates and other stuff in that job (PS: that is actually a great use-case for SureBackup also ;-)). After the job is finished, we remove the differences data

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests