Traffic from to Veeam server

Hyper-V specific discussions

Traffic from to Veeam server

Veeam Logoby Ultra_Cool » Wed Dec 14, 2016 2:41 pm

Hi,

Scenario is like this. We have 3 datacenters. If our Veeam server is in Datacenter A and if VM's and storage are in Datacenter B how will traffic goes if we take backup on vms. Shall traffic and overload first go to Veeam server and from Veeam server to repository or it will be locally at Datacenter B from VM's to repository.

Thank you in advance.
Best Regards
Ultra_Cool
Service Provider
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:18 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: Traffic from to Veeam server

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Dec 14, 2016 2:44 pm

It depends on how the backup repository is configured (what type of repository is used). Basically, traffic is transferred from the proxy (which is the host itself in case of on-host backup) and repository.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15303
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Traffic from to Veeam server

Veeam Logoby Ultra_Cool » Wed Dec 14, 2016 2:49 pm

Hi Foggy,

So if we use on host (which means Hyper-v or any other server in Datacenter B) and Repository all traffic will be transferred locally?
Ultra_Cool
Service Provider
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:18 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: Traffic from to Veeam server

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Dec 14, 2016 2:50 pm

What kind of repository are you using? CIFS or Windows server?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15303
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Traffic from to Veeam server

Veeam Logoby Ultra_Cool » Wed Dec 14, 2016 2:53 pm

In this case it will be CIFS (NAS).
Ultra_Cool
Service Provider
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:18 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: Traffic from to Veeam server

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Dec 14, 2016 2:56 pm

Then make sure you have gateway server that is located in the same site specified for it. Otherwise traffic will go through the backup server, which is the default gateway server.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15303
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Traffic from to Veeam server

Veeam Logoby Ultra_Cool » Wed Dec 14, 2016 2:57 pm

Thank you Foggy
Ultra_Cool
Service Provider
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:18 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: Traffic from to Veeam server

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Dec 14, 2016 3:00 pm

Correction: by default, proxy is selected as the default gateway, so you might be ok even with automatic gateway server selection.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15303
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest