Unable to connect via VMI

Hyper-V specific discussions

Unable to connect via VMI

Veeam Logoby EdgarPy » Mon Sep 29, 2014 2:18 pm

Hi everybody,

I'm having a problem with the addition of a separate server, that when you start the wizard to add the hyper-v host, I get the message appears:

Unable to connect via WMI. Host Name: servername
Values ​​does not fall Within the expected range.

Have you had any similar case about?

Thanks in advance!

note: previously the host hyper-v was being registered with a different IP address than that registered by one of the network cards available. Then proceeded to remove the registration of the second network card.
The operating system version of both the hyper-v host and veeam is Rs W2012 std.
I'm using the VBR 7.0.871.
EdgarPy
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 1:55 pm
Full Name: Edgar Vega

Re: Unable to connect via VMI

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Sep 29, 2014 2:26 pm

Edgar, please provide your support case ID, as it is advised when you click New Topic. Thanks.

As to your error, are you able to add the server by it's new IP address? Are you able to access WMI manually to verify the connection?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Unable to connect via VMI

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Sep 29, 2014 2:30 pm

There is a topic that talks about more or less similar issue; might be helpful. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Unable to connect via VMI

Veeam Logoby EdgarPy » Mon Sep 29, 2014 3:08 pm

Hi Foggy, this is the case ID 00644375.

No, i am not able to add the server with the ip address or name (using dns). Yes, accesing to the WMI console (wmimgmt.msc), its looks ok. I can connect to the hyper-v host and the veeam server.
EdgarPy
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 1:55 pm
Full Name: Edgar Vega

Re: Unable to connect via VMI

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Sep 29, 2014 3:10 pm

Let's see what our engineers could say after reviewing the log files.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Unable to connect via VMI

Veeam Logoby EdgarPy » Mon Sep 29, 2014 3:27 pm

Ok, thanks Foggy!

this is really a particular case.
EdgarPy
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 1:55 pm
Full Name: Edgar Vega

Re: Unable to connect via VMI

Veeam Logoby EdgarPy » Mon Sep 29, 2014 6:20 pm

This KB from Microsoft, http://support2.microsoft.com/kb/2260600, was very useful, applied at the hyper-v host.
I could now add hyper-v host to the backup infrastructure section.

But, remains te issue at the veeam server. The procedure outlined in the kb did not have the same result in the veeam server.
EdgarPy
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 1:55 pm
Full Name: Edgar Vega

Re: Unable to connect via VMI

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:48 am

EdgarPy wrote:But, remains te issue at the veeam server. The procedure outlined in the kb did not have the same result in the veeam server.

What particular issue are you talking about?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Unable to connect via VMI

Veeam Logoby EdgarPy » Mon Oct 13, 2014 12:33 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Foggy,

I meant this particular error on WMI Connection.

Furthermore, the solution was moved aplicadad VBR hyper-v console host. Now, all virtual machines have their backup jobs, working fine.

Thank you very much for the assistance.
EdgarPy
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 1:55 pm
Full Name: Edgar Vega


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests