Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Hyper-V specific discussions

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Veeam Logoby Harich » Fri May 20, 2016 7:32 am

We had AND have the same Problem, thought it might be nice for others that there is a solution:

Closed Case ID: 01709281

After moving from vmware to hyper-v we experienced the Problem that tags were not resolved fron veeam to add vms to the backup job.
However, for the credential test, all vms were resolved properly.

We opened a case with veeam. After a bit of troubleshooting we received a dll file (Veeam.Backup.Core.dll) to replace the original file in the Installation folder.

That helped for one of our Clusters, but not the other one.
I decided to wait for the next update since we had a different patch Level on our Clusters and I didn't want to Play the blame game. :wink:

Now, with the newest Version installed, we are back to the same Problem. :cry:

I'll reopen the case.
Harich
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 7:57 am
Full Name: Hans-Heinrich Dierks

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Veeam Logoby KennethLarsen » Tue May 24, 2016 11:15 am

Thats been my experience too, a fix, seems to work, but half the times it failed anyways.
so i got another fix, and it stopped working all togheter.

which is wierd, cause if you look at the new whats new in V9, it clealy states
• SCVMM tags support. Added the ability to configure jobs by adding Microsoft System
Center Virtual Machine Manager (SCVMM) tags as a container object

One would think they testet it.. they problery did, but support for tags is not that it might work about 50% of the time.. !

Case # 01799139

sure we may have other issues, but how can the fact that we cant install the Veeam Console on SCCM managed windows 10, break TAG support ? ;)
KennethLarsen
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 7:21 am
Full Name: Kenneth Larsen

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Veeam Logoby Steven Bricklayer » Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:46 am

Hi,

We have the same issue

This is a CRITICAL ISSUE, you can't use backup over tags serenely.

I made a job, a few checks it worked nice.

Now some VMs are missing and the only solution to know it, is in the logs (wich is in Success of course) :

":: VM is no longer processed by this job. Make sure this change is intentional. "

Please, make a quick a patch

Case # 02117794
Steven Bricklayer
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:42 am
Full Name: Steven Bricklayer

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:55 am

As far as I can see there is a fix for it so support should be able to help you. Also which VBR version are you running? This issue is normally fixed in 9.5 so if you aren't running it consider upgrading if possible.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1630
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Veeam Logoby Steven Bricklayer » Tue Apr 04, 2017 2:33 pm

We are up to date with Veeam 9.5

The dll provided by the support solved our problem
Steven Bricklayer
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:42 am
Full Name: Steven Bricklayer

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Veeam Logoby Steven Bricklayer » Thu May 04, 2017 8:08 am

Our issue is back again

That's so unsafe
Steven Bricklayer
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:42 am
Full Name: Steven Bricklayer

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Veeam Logoby Steven Bricklayer » Fri May 05, 2017 7:57 am

We made a new database and we still have the same issue.

Btw I think I understand why It just (can't) work using tags correctly.

When you look at the logs, each time a job is "Building VM list" it start a Veeam.Backup.PSManager, and do many powershell request

Server CLUSTERVMM Query Get-VMHost -VMMServer "CMUSTERVMM" | where { $_.ID -eq "3d13ebf2-e042-4a75-a897-406f3774f763"}

Some time the shell just stop crawling for list.

The funny part is when you have multiple job starting in the same time.

You have many many many Veeam.Backup.PSManager process starting at the same time, asking for the same thing, and they all finish by stucking.

It don't seems to have a "cache" table, or a waiting process.

Our VMM work perfectly, we also add a lot of ressources (memory / CPU) because the support asked for this.

I'm so disappointed by Veeam, I pushed to used that software backup and now I look like a fool
Steven Bricklayer
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:42 am
Full Name: Steven Bricklayer

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue May 09, 2017 6:08 am

Steven,

Can you contact support again? Reference the case ID again 02117794 and post the new ID for reference. In case you feel it goes to a dead end, please escalate it.

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3382
Liked: 384 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Previous

Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest