Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
Thorvain
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 11, 2016 4:28 am
Full Name: Todd Russell
Contact:

Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by Thorvain »

Do tags work the same as Folders did in Vcenter?

I would like to tag my Hyper-V VM's and have the backup job use those tags to backup any server with it.

if not is there a way to have VM's automatically added to backup jobs in Hyper-V

Thanks for your time

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19761
Liked: 1823 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by foggy »

Todd, you can use Hyper-V tags to add VMs to Veeam B&R v9 jobs.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24566
Liked: 1979 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Just be aware that in order to use tags you need to deploy SCVMM server and add it to the backup console.

Thorvain
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 11, 2016 4:28 am
Full Name: Todd Russell
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by Thorvain »

When i add my tags to the Servers

and then add the Tag to the backup job

start job i get this

Nothing to process. All VMs were excluded from task list

I do have SCVMM 2012 r2 installed

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24566
Liked: 1979 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Is this a first backup job run? Do you also see this message if you switch to a virtual infrastructure view (not tags) in the backup job?

Thorvain
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 11, 2016 4:28 am
Full Name: Todd Russell
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by Thorvain »

No this is not the first backup job run.

backup jobs work fine adding servers from infra view

i have also created a new backup job and added a tag and i get the same message as before

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19761
Liked: 1823 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by foggy »

Please contact technical support for a webex session to verify whether you're doing everything right.

Harich
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 25, 2016 7:57 am
Full Name: Hans-Heinrich Dierks
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by Harich »

We have the same problem here.
What was the outcome?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19761
Liked: 1823 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by foggy »

Todd didn't share his case ID, so we cannot track it down. Please contact support directly.

Larry s
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 25, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by Larry s »

Greetings,

I just wanted to let others know that we have the same issue, and, when we opened a support case on 2/22/2016, the technician that worked with us found that this is a known bug in V9. I'm adding this information so others will know.

The technician indicated this should be fixed in the first SP for V9.

gairys
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 24, 2014 4:27 pm
Full Name: Gairy Spiers
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by gairys »

We are having the same issue. If someone gets an update, please let us know.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24566
Liked: 1979 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Gairy, please open a support case to be notified on fix availability as per Larry's post. Thanks!

gairys
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 24, 2014 4:27 pm
Full Name: Gairy Spiers
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by gairys »

Will do, thanks Vitally.

KennethLarsen
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 03, 2014 7:21 am
Full Name: Kenneth Larsen
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by KennethLarsen »

And so we are after sp1, and i am still seeing this issue ?

Anybody got an update ?

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 2025
Liked: 295 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by jmmarton »

It would be best for you to open a support ticket to see if you might be experiencing a different issue which exhibits the same (or similar) symptom.

Joe

Harich
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 25, 2016 7:57 am
Full Name: Hans-Heinrich Dierks
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by Harich »

We had AND have the same Problem, thought it might be nice for others that there is a solution:

Closed Case ID: 01709281

After moving from vmware to hyper-v we experienced the Problem that tags were not resolved fron veeam to add vms to the backup job.
However, for the credential test, all vms were resolved properly.

We opened a case with veeam. After a bit of troubleshooting we received a dll file (Veeam.Backup.Core.dll) to replace the original file in the Installation folder.

That helped for one of our Clusters, but not the other one.
I decided to wait for the next update since we had a different patch Level on our Clusters and I didn't want to Play the blame game. :wink:

Now, with the newest Version installed, we are back to the same Problem. :cry:

I'll reopen the case.

KennethLarsen
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 03, 2014 7:21 am
Full Name: Kenneth Larsen
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by KennethLarsen »

Thats been my experience too, a fix, seems to work, but half the times it failed anyways.
so i got another fix, and it stopped working all togheter.

which is wierd, cause if you look at the new whats new in V9, it clealy states
• SCVMM tags support. Added the ability to configure jobs by adding Microsoft System
Center Virtual Machine Manager (SCVMM) tags as a container object

One would think they testet it.. they problery did, but support for tags is not that it might work about 50% of the time.. !

Case # 01799139

sure we may have other issues, but how can the fact that we cant install the Veeam Console on SCCM managed windows 10, break TAG support ? ;)

Steven Bricklayer
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 04, 2017 8:42 am
Full Name: Steven Bricklayer
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by Steven Bricklayer »

Hi,

We have the same issue

This is a CRITICAL ISSUE, you can't use backup over tags serenely.

I made a job, a few checks it worked nice.

Now some VMs are missing and the only solution to know it, is in the logs (wich is in Success of course) :

":: VM is no longer processed by this job. Make sure this change is intentional. "

Please, make a quick a patch

Case # 02117794

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 3835
Liked: 762 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by nielsengelen »

As far as I can see there is a fix for it so support should be able to help you. Also which VBR version are you running? This issue is normally fixed in 9.5 so if you aren't running it consider upgrading if possible.
Personal blog: https://foonet.be
GitHub: https://github.com/nielsengelen

Steven Bricklayer
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 04, 2017 8:42 am
Full Name: Steven Bricklayer
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by Steven Bricklayer »

We are up to date with Veeam 9.5

The dll provided by the support solved our problem

Steven Bricklayer
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 04, 2017 8:42 am
Full Name: Steven Bricklayer
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by Steven Bricklayer »

Our issue is back again

That's so unsafe

Steven Bricklayer
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 04, 2017 8:42 am
Full Name: Steven Bricklayer
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by Steven Bricklayer »

We made a new database and we still have the same issue.

Btw I think I understand why It just (can't) work using tags correctly.

When you look at the logs, each time a job is "Building VM list" it start a Veeam.Backup.PSManager, and do many powershell request

Server CLUSTERVMM Query Get-VMHost -VMMServer "CMUSTERVMM" | where { $_.ID -eq "3d13ebf2-e042-4a75-a897-406f3774f763"}

Some time the shell just stop crawling for list.

The funny part is when you have multiple job starting in the same time.

You have many many many Veeam.Backup.PSManager process starting at the same time, asking for the same thing, and they all finish by stucking.

It don't seems to have a "cache" table, or a waiting process.

Our VMM work perfectly, we also add a lot of ressources (memory / CPU) because the support asked for this.

I'm so disappointed by Veeam, I pushed to used that software backup and now I look like a fool

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 6493
Liked: 814 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by Mike Resseler »

Steven,

Can you contact support again? Reference the case ID again 02117794 and post the new ID for reference. In case you feel it goes to a dead end, please escalate it.

Thanks
Mike

gggggggg
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 26, 2014 1:50 am
Full Name: greg
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by gggggggg »

Any chance support for tags will be added without SCVMM?

I use WAC to manage my HyperV cluster, and add tags.

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1762
Liked: 402 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Contact:

Re: Using Tags to Add Servers to Backup Job

Post by Egor Yakovlev »

Hi Greg,

Veeam works with SCVMM-based tags only. In your case the closest feasible workaround would be some PowerShell automation - script that lists machines, filters them by your WAC tag of choice, and feeds into Find-VBRHvEntity + Add-VBRHvJobObject, that could update VBR Job on a daily basis with new machines.

/Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Egor Yakovlev and 6 guests