VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Hyper-V specific discussions

VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Mon May 08, 2017 6:38 am

Hello.
I have several NIC at my test lab and need to specify VBR server to bind to it.
The main goal - specify networks for VBR remote proxy servers. at this moment they are trying to connect to wrong IP of VBR.
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon May 08, 2017 9:00 am

You can either try to use preferred network option or add remote servers via the correct address IP address and adjust hosts file on the proxy server.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Mon May 08, 2017 9:27 pm

Hi.
this is not my case - let me explain myself.
I have VBR server with four NICs:
1. 172.16.0.0/16 - Internal network (routed to all other subnets and can be used for backups).
2. 192.168.0.0/24 - fast 10G network for local site (not routed to other subnets).
3. 192.168.1.0/24 - internal subnet iSCSI network for D2D2D backups (not routed to other subnets).
4. 192.168.2.0/24 - the second intersubnet network for non-backup purposes.

VBR server has ONLY 172.16.0.0/16 network registered in DNS (nslookup resolve ONLY 172.16.0.0/16 address), but several remote proxies connected via 172.16.0.0/16 network binds to random 192.168.x.0/24 IP and can't communicate with VBR server.
why? I don't known - this is aweful (and useless) "preferred networks" setting - this desing is unclear, non-understantable and pretty weird.

also with this desing I can't find a way to:
1. localsite backups via 10G network.
2. offsite (remote sites) via routed network.
3. exclude non-backup networks.
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed May 10, 2017 12:55 pm

Kirill, have you tried to configure preferred networks as Vitaliy has suggested? If yes, what rules did you specify?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Wed May 10, 2017 7:07 pm

Alexander,
Yes, I've tried to configure preferred networks.
I specify two rules inside "networks" button:
192.168.0.0/24 (fast 10G network)
172.16.0.0/16 (routed network)

but several proxies still trying to communicate with VBR IP from 192.168.1.0/24 or 192.168.2.0/24 and after couple retries maybe reconnect to correct IP (172.16.0.0), but maybe not.


I've found some registry keys with port numbers for VBR services, but these is no any NICs/subnets/IPs binding.
can you share specifications? ;)
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu May 11, 2017 5:10 pm

Re-reading the thread, it's not about the backup traffic going over the wrong network, it's about connectivity between backup server and remote proxies, right?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Thu May 11, 2017 6:47 pm

Yes, it's right.
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon May 15, 2017 4:16 pm

Then preferred networks option is out of help here. You should configure routing properly.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Mon May 15, 2017 6:02 pm

routing? well... OK.
which routing should I configure?

please, pay attention about routing - there is no routing at L2 domain, ARP is on duty ;)
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Mon May 22, 2017 4:26 am

Hi there.
any ideas?
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 30, 2017 3:41 pm

Kirill, I recommend you contacting technical support for assistance, they will be able to review your setup closer, since it is not completely clear to me.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests