Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
WingDog
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill
Contact:

VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Post by WingDog »

Hello.
I have several NIC at my test lab and need to specify VBR server to bind to it.
The main goal - specify networks for VBR remote proxy servers. at this moment they are trying to connect to wrong IP of VBR.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24030
Liked: 1794 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

You can either try to use preferred network option or add remote servers via the correct address IP address and adjust hosts file on the proxy server.

WingDog
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill
Contact:

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Post by WingDog »

Hi.
this is not my case - let me explain myself.
I have VBR server with four NICs:
1. 172.16.0.0/16 - Internal network (routed to all other subnets and can be used for backups).
2. 192.168.0.0/24 - fast 10G network for local site (not routed to other subnets).
3. 192.168.1.0/24 - internal subnet iSCSI network for D2D2D backups (not routed to other subnets).
4. 192.168.2.0/24 - the second intersubnet network for non-backup purposes.

VBR server has ONLY 172.16.0.0/16 network registered in DNS (nslookup resolve ONLY 172.16.0.0/16 address), but several remote proxies connected via 172.16.0.0/16 network binds to random 192.168.x.0/24 IP and can't communicate with VBR server.
why? I don't known - this is aweful (and useless) "preferred networks" setting - this desing is unclear, non-understantable and pretty weird.

also with this desing I can't find a way to:
1. localsite backups via 10G network.
2. offsite (remote sites) via routed network.
3. exclude non-backup networks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19219
Liked: 1723 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Post by foggy »

Kirill, have you tried to configure preferred networks as Vitaliy has suggested? If yes, what rules did you specify?

WingDog
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill
Contact:

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Post by WingDog »

Alexander,
Yes, I've tried to configure preferred networks.
I specify two rules inside "networks" button:
192.168.0.0/24 (fast 10G network)
172.16.0.0/16 (routed network)

but several proxies still trying to communicate with VBR IP from 192.168.1.0/24 or 192.168.2.0/24 and after couple retries maybe reconnect to correct IP (172.16.0.0), but maybe not.


I've found some registry keys with port numbers for VBR services, but these is no any NICs/subnets/IPs binding.
can you share specifications? ;)

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19219
Liked: 1723 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Post by foggy »

Re-reading the thread, it's not about the backup traffic going over the wrong network, it's about connectivity between backup server and remote proxies, right?

WingDog
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill
Contact:

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Post by WingDog »

Yes, it's right.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19219
Liked: 1723 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Post by foggy »

Then preferred networks option is out of help here. You should configure routing properly.

WingDog
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill
Contact:

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Post by WingDog »

routing? well... OK.
which routing should I configure?

please, pay attention about routing - there is no routing at L2 domain, ARP is on duty ;)

WingDog
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill
Contact:

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Post by WingDog »

Hi there.
any ideas?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19219
Liked: 1723 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VBR 9.5. NIC Binding?

Post by foggy »

Kirill, I recommend you contacting technical support for assistance, they will be able to review your setup closer, since it is not completely clear to me.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests