Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 928
Liked: 107 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

veeam 10 - ports

Post by frankive » Feb 19, 2020 10:07 am

We have a site-2-site from an Azure VM to on-premise datacentre.
For now the tunnel has been open for all ports both the ways.

We want to narrow the traffic from on-premise to the azure network with just the ports Veeam 10 needs.
The server in Azure is only running Apis to the on-premise infrastructure (local repositories NAS where one of the hyper-v server in the S2D works like gateway server).

Which port would we need to allow INBOUND from the on-premise infrastrcture to our Azure Network to keep everything working as expected?

oleg.feoktistov
Veeam Software
Posts: 209
Liked: 68 times
Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
Contact:

Re: veeam 10 - ports

Post by oleg.feoktistov » Feb 19, 2020 11:51 am

Hi Frank,

Given that you have Hyper-V environment, please, check this up-to-date article on used ports.

Thanks,
Oleg

frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 928
Liked: 107 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: veeam 10 - ports

Post by frankive » Feb 19, 2020 8:06 pm

Correect me if I am wrong, but it seems like we dont have to allow any traffic from on-premise to the Azure Virtual Network (where the manage server is) since all traffic always will initiate from the manage server in azure?

frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 928
Liked: 107 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: veeam 10 - ports

Post by frankive » Feb 21, 2020 8:06 am

Actually the only port I need to allow from the on-premise environment to the veeam server in Azure is port tcp 9401.
Is this correct? All other traffic seems to always be initiated from the Veeamserver itself

oleg.feoktistov
Veeam Software
Posts: 209
Liked: 68 times
Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
Contact:

Re: veeam 10 - ports

Post by oleg.feoktistov » Feb 21, 2020 9:09 am

Hi Frank,

Yes, the majority of requests are initiated by Backup server itself. However, backup components need to respond to VBR on query status etc., right?
So, dynamic ports range is used for that (49152 to 65535 on Windows).
For example, to communicate with Veeam Installer Service, which sits on Managed Hyper-V server and listens on port 6160:
- Backup server - enable outbound traffic on port 6160 and inbound on dynamic ports.
- Hyper-V - enable outbound traffic on dynamic ports and inbound on 6160.

Thanks,
Oleg

frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 928
Liked: 107 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: veeam 10 - ports

Post by frankive » Feb 21, 2020 10:10 am

Hmm.. so basically if we allow dynamics port-range INBOUND to the veeamserver, the Veeam server network should be good, correct?
We allow all traffic OUTBOUND from the Veeamserver as default.

oleg.feoktistov
Veeam Software
Posts: 209
Liked: 68 times
Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
Contact:

Re: veeam 10 - ports

Post by oleg.feoktistov » Feb 21, 2020 1:13 pm

Correct. Don't forget port 9401 :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests