Veeam 8 Replication with SCVMM 2012 R2

Hyper-V specific discussions

Veeam 8 Replication with SCVMM 2012 R2

Veeam Logoby NovoSean » Fri Feb 20, 2015 1:33 am

Hi all,

I am in the process of testing Veeam 8 Replication for our Hyper-V 2012 R2 Cluster Built using SCVMM 2012 R2.

Networking for Hyper-V uses a Logical Switch to converge the network fabric for Management, CSV, LiveMigration and VM networks, then we isolate the networks using logical networks with Vlans and QOS is set on the VM network adapter on each VM using VMM E.g: low, medium, High etc.

The issue I am having is that when I select "Separate virtual network (enable network mapping)" this only gives me very simple changes to the Source and Target network and enables a standard Switch in the VM rather than the Logical Switch, Connect to VM network, Enable VLAN and Logical switch Classification. E.G low,Medium,High.

I have tried to get around this by removing the checkbox from "Separate virtual network (enable network mapping)" and then sxripting updating the Replica networks which works fine in a planned failover, but when we do Failover now the VM seems to remove the network changes.

Does anyone know a way around this issue, or if there is a way to specify the Logical switch settings on the replica VM during the creation of the VM?

Cheers

Sean
NovoSean
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:58 pm
Full Name: Sean Micklefield

Re: Veeam 8 Replication with SCVMM 2012 R2

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Mar 19, 2015 4:24 pm

Sean, currently there's no ability to set this within replication jobs. You can stick to creating failover plans with post-failover scripting for each individual VM, would do the same as Failover Now command plus execute network update script.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15081
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam 8 Replication with SCVMM 2012 R2

Veeam Logoby stephen.cilesio » Thu Feb 25, 2016 11:12 pm

Hi Guys I'm having the same issue as mentioned by Sean. Was just wondering if you created the post-failover script and if it worked?
stephen.cilesio
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2015 6:21 am
Full Name: Stephen Cilesio

Re: Veeam 8 Replication with SCVMM 2012 R2

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:51 am

Judging on the Sean's post, it worked fine for him:
NovoSean wrote:I have tried to get around this by removing the checkbox from "Separate virtual network (enable network mapping)" and then sxripting updating the Replica networks which works fine in a planned failover
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15081
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam 8 Replication with SCVMM 2012 R2

Veeam Logoby jonhsykes » Mon Nov 21, 2016 3:11 pm

Did you ever find a solution for this?
jonhsykes
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:24 pm
Full Name: JS

Re: Veeam 8 Replication with SCVMM 2012 R2

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Nov 21, 2016 3:29 pm

We do not have a case ID to check. Have you tried the workaround mentioned in the original post?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15081
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: manfri and 20 guests