Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
j.rev
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 16, 2018 4:36 pm
Full Name: Jennifer Revell
Contact:

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Post by j.rev » Oct 26, 2018 12:38 pm

Yes VMM is installed on the backup server. And you are correct that I'm still running all of my Veeam servers (Backup Server, Proxy, etc...) on 2012 R2.

nmdange
Expert
Posts: 460
Liked: 108 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Post by nmdange » Oct 26, 2018 2:38 pm

Do you mean the VMM console is installed on the backup server, or the VMM server is co-located with Veeam? I don't believe it would be supported/recommended to run the VMM server on the same OS as Veeam.

j.rev
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 16, 2018 4:36 pm
Full Name: Jennifer Revell
Contact:

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Post by j.rev » Oct 26, 2018 2:57 pm

The VMM console was installed on the backup server. Two servers themselves are separate machines: Veeam is on a 2012 R2 server and SCVMM 2016(Build 1801) is on Server 2016 (NOT virtual servers.) And you are correct, having both on the same machine is not recommended.

Mainly, what I need to know while we are in this state of transition, with all of my Virutals and SCVMM being on 2016 can we still manage backups for them with Veeam being on Server 2012 R2 or do we need to start looking at migrating our Veeam environment to 2016 earlier than originally planned?

nmdange
Expert
Posts: 460
Liked: 108 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Post by nmdange » Oct 26, 2018 5:05 pm

Yes there is no need for the Veeam server itself to be upgraded, all you have to do is upgrade the VMM console on your Veeam server to match the version of SCVMM. My Veeam server is 2012 R2 with the Hyper-V/SCVMM servers on 2016 and it works fine.

The main reason to upgrade Veeam itself is if you want to use Veeam File Explorer on the Veeam server to restore individual files from a 2016 VM that contains either REFS or Deduplication, since the version of these components on 2012 R2 can't read the newer 2016 format. However, you can just run the Veeam console on a remote machine running Windows Server 2016 or Windows 10 in that case.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests