Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Hyper-V specific discussions

Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Veeam Logoby Iain_Green » Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:17 pm

Hi,

Were running Veeam 9.5 with update 1
We backup several different Hyper V environments so our backup server has Microsoft system centre 2012 R2 installed.

We are creating a new 2016 environment and wish to use our Veeam server to backup the servers. However Veeam can't with out me updating to System centre 2016.

My question is, will I be able to still backup the environments that use 2012 if 2016 is installed?

Thanks

Iain
Many thanks

Iain Green
Iain_Green
Service Provider
 
Posts: 76
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 2:13 pm
Full Name: Iain Green

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:32 pm

Hi Iain,

I am not sure if I understand the question. Will Veeam be able to backup an older Hyper-V environment and the latest 2016 environment? In that case the answer is yes

If that is not the question, sorry, can you give me some more information?

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3151
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Veeam Logoby Iain_Green » Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:37 pm

Excellent, that is all i needed. Just wanted to be sure I am safe upgrading to 2016 with out effecting the 2012 environments.
Many thanks

Iain Green
Iain_Green
Service Provider
 
Posts: 76
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 2:13 pm
Full Name: Iain Green

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Veeam Logoby nmdange » Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:32 pm

If you are using an off-host proxy, you'll need a separate one running on WS2016 to backup the Hyper-V 2016 hosts.
nmdange
Expert
 
Posts: 193
Liked: 57 times
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri Feb 24, 2017 6:45 am

Correct, and good point. But if your new environment is fully 2016, you can go with on-host today as there are no Hardware VSS providers for 2016 at this point in time (or not that I am aware off)
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3151
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Veeam Logoby Iain_Green » Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:13 am

nmdange wrote:If you are using an off-host proxy, you'll need a separate one running on WS2016 to backup the Hyper-V 2016 hosts.


If I was to us off host, are you saying the proxy would need to be running 2016 OS?
Many thanks

Iain Green
Iain_Green
Service Provider
 
Posts: 76
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 2:13 pm
Full Name: Iain Green

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:16 am

Correct, but in order to use an off-host proxy with 2016 you need to have a VSS hardware provider that supports transportable shadow copies on the off-host proxy and the Hyper-V host. So you would need to check with your hardware vendor first if it already exists for 2016
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3151
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Veeam Logoby Iain_Green » Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:25 am

OK thanks, a nugget to remember, as it is we will be using the hosts as proxies for this environment.
Many thanks

Iain Green
Iain_Green
Service Provider
 
Posts: 76
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 2:13 pm
Full Name: Iain Green

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:27 am

Ian,

Not sure if you already have built that environment but consider using ReFS (and those newer MSFT technologies) to store your VMs on. The snapshot (sorry checkpoint) commit is very fast and can make a big difference when working with backups!
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3151
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Veeam Logoby Iain_Green » Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:36 am

Are you talking about the Host running ReFS?

We are looking at all new Veeam servers running ReFS however existing servers can't be converted as we do not have the space to free repositories in order to format them.
Many thanks

Iain Green
Iain_Green
Service Provider
 
Posts: 76
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 2:13 pm
Full Name: Iain Green

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:42 am

I am talking about the location that will hold the VMs
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3151
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Veeam Logoby nmdange » Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:00 pm

Mike Resseler wrote:Correct, but in order to use an off-host proxy with 2016 you need to have a VSS hardware provider that supports transportable shadow copies on the off-host proxy and the Hyper-V host. So you would need to check with your hardware vendor first if it already exists for 2016


Unless you are using Scale-Out File Servers and presenting the storage over SMB :D
nmdange
Expert
 
Posts: 193
Liked: 57 times
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Veeam Logoby Iain_Green » Thu Mar 09, 2017 3:51 pm

Hi, so I upgraded VMM on our backup server and found that I could no longer connect to existing HYPERV enviroments, they would fail to invoke PowerShell query and Failed to determine SCVMM server versions.
Before I create a case, can I ask if anyone had any issues upgrading or know any reason why replacing the old VMM with the new one would cause these issues?
Many thanks

Iain Green
Iain_Green
Service Provider
 
Posts: 76
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 2:13 pm
Full Name: Iain Green

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Veeam Logoby nmdange » Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:28 pm

When you say you upgraded VMM on the backup server, did you just upgrade the console? Is the actual VMM server itself on a different server? You need to upgrade the actual SCVMM host to SCVMM 2016. I did not have any issues with upgrading SCVMM.
nmdange
Expert
 
Posts: 193
Liked: 57 times
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm

Re: Veeam 9.5 Hyperv 2016

Veeam Logoby Iain_Green » Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:36 pm

I only upgraded the VMM console as we have serveral 2012 r2 Hyperv environments connecting, we are now adding a new 2016 environment.
So as above I asked would I still be able to work with the 2012 r2 enviroments if I upgrade to the vmm console to 2016, to which I was told yes.. so far it appears I can't.
Many thanks

Iain Green
Iain_Green
Service Provider
 
Posts: 76
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 2:13 pm
Full Name: Iain Green

Next

Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests