Veeam Free won't detect any VMs on standalone HyperV host

Hyper-V specific discussions

Veeam Free won't detect any VMs on standalone HyperV host

Veeam Logoby Kynaeus » Sat Jun 14, 2014 4:45 pm

Hi folks.

I'm using the most up to date version of the Free edition, 7.0.0.690 so that I can VeeamZip the VMs running on the Hyper-V host, which is standalone and the host OS is Server 2012r2 datacenter.

I installed successfully and can successfully add both the VM and the HV host, but they only appear under the 'files' section so I can browse the filesystem. If I look under 'virtual machines' where you'd actually back up the VM nothing is detected. Running a rescan on the HV host is successful at scanning the drives and volumes but still, no VMs appear.

I can't seem to locate anyone else having the same issue and I've looked the documentation and it seems extremely straightforward, as the banner for this forum suggests 'it just works' but that is not the situation I'm seeing here. I assume since no one else is having the same issue & the documentation says nothing about this that I'm doing something silly or missing something obvious here - any ideas? :?:
Kynaeus
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 4:34 pm
Full Name: Greg H

Re: Veeam Free won't detect any VMs on standalone HyperV hos

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sat Jun 14, 2014 7:18 pm

Hi, you are attempting to use a product version that was released well before Hyper-V 2012 R2 was made available, so of course it does not support that. Bring Veeam up to the current patch level, and you will see "it just works" indeed :)
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam Free won't detect any VMs on standalone HyperV hos

Veeam Logoby Kynaeus » Sat Jun 14, 2014 9:05 pm

This IS the newest version of the free version, so I assume you mean it'll work if I upgrade to a free trial of the paid version or purchase a license for it?

Would the same thing be true of Veeam One Free (v7.0.0.876)?

Edit: Hmm, that does seem to be the case for both of them. Thanks for the help!
Kynaeus
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 4:34 pm
Full Name: Greg H

Re: Veeam Free won't detect any VMs on standalone HyperV hos

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sun Jun 15, 2014 3:29 pm

Kynaeus wrote:This IS the newest version of the free version

No, it's not. 7.0.0.690 you are using will soon be 1 year old. The newest version is 7.0.0.871 (Patch #4) released earlier this month.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam Free won't detect any VMs on standalone HyperV hos

Veeam Logoby bkan279 » Wed Oct 08, 2014 5:14 am

Thanks Gostev, I downloaded what I assumed would be the latest version but Server 2012 R2 did require path #4 before detecting my test VM. Just throwing that out there for anyone else that runs across this.
bkan279
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 5:08 am
Full Name: Bryan Kanouse

Re: Veeam Free won't detect any VMs on standalone HyperV hos

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Oct 08, 2014 5:24 am

Yes, actually Windows Server 2012 R2 support was implemented in Veeam B&R R2 update (aka patch #2), but since it is superseded by the following patches, you can just install the latest one. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14751
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DGrinev, foggy, Vitaliy S. and 9 guests