Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
raycarterin
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid
Contact:

Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Post by raycarterin » Oct 10, 2013 7:46 am

I have two standalone hyper-v host and 8 VM's running on it. I have use veeam and its really too good for backing up virtual machines. can any one please tell me i needed to install veeam on hyper-v host. for backup i don't have any NAS SAN or CSV.
i have used local disk to store VM's and my all vms are 993GB i wan to backup them on Portable HDD. can i use extreme zip for that is this recommended for production

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18457
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Post by foggy » Oct 10, 2013 8:03 am 1 person likes this post

Setting compression to Extreme level will literally put extremely high load on your host, however will allow to save only about 2%-3% of space at the expense of double CPU load. I do not recommend to do this if your production host acts as the proxy server for the backups.

raycarterin
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Post by raycarterin » Oct 10, 2013 10:35 am

thanks for quick reply. also i have just start my test machine to check actual load using Extreme level. i have configure 3 vms in hyper-v. when i started backup only 2 machine are getting backup 3rd is showing pending. also i am getting below warning in action pane "10/10/2013 3:57:55 PM :: Guest processing skipped (check guest OS VSS state and integration components version)" Can you please let me know what is the exact issue is i'am missing something to configure.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17070
Liked: 1475 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Post by veremin » Oct 10, 2013 10:41 am

Do you have any errors reported in the Windows Event Log; similar to the ones mentioned in the adjacent thread? Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18457
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Post by foggy » Oct 10, 2013 10:43 am

Ray, what Veeam B&R and Hyper-V versions are you running?

raycarterin
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Post by raycarterin » Oct 10, 2013 10:57 am

@ v.Eremin. No i don't have saw any logs in event viewer.

@ foggy. I'am using B&R version 7.0.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18457
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Post by foggy » Oct 10, 2013 11:02 am

Is there a chance that this VM has dynamic disk? Is it up and running during backup?

raycarterin
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Post by raycarterin » Oct 10, 2013 11:14 am

Yes. all VM are configured with dynamic disk and all VM's are up and running.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18457
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Post by foggy » Oct 10, 2013 11:21 am

If the VM guest OS has dynamic disks, it can be backed up using saved state only, so this warning, this is expected.

raycarterin
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Post by raycarterin » Oct 10, 2013 11:24 am

Ok. but i have tried with one more guest with same settings and i don't receive any error or warning.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18457
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Post by foggy » Oct 10, 2013 11:34 am

Well, are you probably talking about virtual dynamic disks, not guest OS dynamic disks then?

This warning could also be caused by Hyper-V Integration Services failure, you can contact technical support to identify the actual reason of this behavior. I would also check permissions for the guest OS and Integration Services version.

raycarterin
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Post by raycarterin » Oct 10, 2013 11:37 am

Yes. i have created dynamically expanding disks for guests.
what is "10/10/2013 4:50:04 PM :: Resource not ready: Hyper-V backup proxy" message.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18457
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Post by foggy » Oct 10, 2013 11:49 am

I encourage you to open a case regarding the observed behavior. Also, it would be much appreciated if you could update the thread with the case ID for reference.

raycarterin
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Post by raycarterin » Oct 10, 2013 11:52 am

Ok... i will open ticket in i need to check on more thing i have just restarted my server and guests and now i am again going to launch backup again if i get error again then i will sure open ticket for same.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests