Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Hyper-V specific discussions

Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Veeam Logoby raycarterin » Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:46 am

I have two standalone hyper-v host and 8 VM's running on it. I have use veeam and its really too good for backing up virtual machines. can any one please tell me i needed to install veeam on hyper-v host. for backup i don't have any NAS SAN or CSV.
i have used local disk to store VM's and my all vms are 993GB i wan to backup them on Portable HDD. can i use extreme zip for that is this recommended for production
raycarterin
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Oct 10, 2013 8:03 am 1 person likes this post

Setting compression to Extreme level will literally put extremely high load on your host, however will allow to save only about 2%-3% of space at the expense of double CPU load. I do not recommend to do this if your production host acts as the proxy server for the backups.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Veeam Logoby raycarterin » Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:35 am

thanks for quick reply. also i have just start my test machine to check actual load using Extreme level. i have configure 3 vms in hyper-v. when i started backup only 2 machine are getting backup 3rd is showing pending. also i am getting below warning in action pane "10/10/2013 3:57:55 PM :: Guest processing skipped (check guest OS VSS state and integration components version)" Can you please let me know what is the exact issue is i'am missing something to configure.
raycarterin
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:41 am

Do you have any errors reported in the Windows Event Log; similar to the ones mentioned in the adjacent thread? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:43 am

Ray, what Veeam B&R and Hyper-V versions are you running?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Veeam Logoby raycarterin » Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:57 am

@ v.Eremin. No i don't have saw any logs in event viewer.

@ foggy. I'am using B&R version 7.0.
raycarterin
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:02 am

Is there a chance that this VM has dynamic disk? Is it up and running during backup?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Veeam Logoby raycarterin » Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:14 am

Yes. all VM are configured with dynamic disk and all VM's are up and running.
raycarterin
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:21 am

If the VM guest OS has dynamic disks, it can be backed up using saved state only, so this warning, this is expected.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Veeam Logoby raycarterin » Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:24 am

Ok. but i have tried with one more guest with same settings and i don't receive any error or warning.
raycarterin
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:34 am

Well, are you probably talking about virtual dynamic disks, not guest OS dynamic disks then?

This warning could also be caused by Hyper-V Integration Services failure, you can contact technical support to identify the actual reason of this behavior. I would also check permissions for the guest OS and Integration Services version.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Veeam Logoby raycarterin » Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:37 am

Yes. i have created dynamically expanding disks for guests.
what is "10/10/2013 4:50:04 PM :: Resource not ready: Hyper-V backup proxy" message.
raycarterin
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:49 am

I encourage you to open a case regarding the observed behavior. Also, it would be much appreciated if you could update the thread with the case ID for reference.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam on Hype-V enabled host

Veeam Logoby raycarterin » Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:52 am

Ok... i will open ticket in i need to check on more thing i have just restarted my server and guests and now i am again going to launch backup again if i get error again then i will sure open ticket for same.
raycarterin
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:16 am
Full Name: raycarterrapid


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests