Veeam replication vs hyper-v 2012 replication

Hyper-V specific discussions

[MERGED] Veeam backup and replication

Veeam Logoby Ultra_Cool » Fri Nov 09, 2012 9:01 am

Hello,
I have installed veeam and when i tried to add servers i get error. We are planing to implement veeam and its very important to understand this. I have a few question which and hope that someone can answer on them.

I have a few remote sites using Hyper-V. Can I backup them without VPN to my central Veeam server? (if yes, how)? Does they need to be visible on internet or veeam have to be visible?

2. Is Veeam suitable for “hosting” backups for customers?

3. How much does Veeam compress the data transferred between the Veeam client and server? We use Microsoft DPM today. Can I assume that there is less data needs to be sent?

4. Is it recommended to have a local Veeam server installed on each remote office or is it enough if I have one central (if I accept longer recovery times). And can I do a mix? If one office have higher requirements. Can I place a local Veeam server there and replicate it to the main Veeam server?

5. If I backup a remote office and want to do a restore. Can I export the vm to a removable device from the Veeam server, take it to the remote office and import it? How easy is that?

best regards / Ultra
Ultra_Cool
Service Provider
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:18 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: Veeam replication vs hyper-v 2012 replication

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Nov 09, 2012 1:11 pm

Seems that most of these questions have been already answered in this topic above... But still a few additions below.

1. While VPN is generally not required (though is a common practice when traffic goes over Internet in terms of security), you need to have servers involved in the backup process (remote hosts, backup repositories, and Veeam B&R console) see each other. In the product user guide you can find a list of all ports required for the backup.
2. Generally yes, but depends on the specific scenario you want to implement.
3. Depends on too many factors (the contents of the VM disks, in first place). Note that Veeam B&R also provides inline deduplication, which together with compression allows to significantly save on transferred traffic and storage space.
4. You can use a single Veeam B&R server to backup all the VMs, but definitely need local proxy server installed in each remote site.
5. Pretty easy. You can always import the backup file to the newly installed Veeam B&R in the remote site and make it ready for restore. Otherwise, you can use a standalone utility (extract.exe) coming with every Veeam B&R installation and allowing to restore VMs from any VBK file, even without the product installed.

Thanks!
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14752
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam replication vs hyper-v 2012 replication

Veeam Logoby Ultra_Cool » Sun Nov 11, 2012 3:57 pm

Thank you foggy. On second question scenario is like this. If i have 4 remote sites and i want that every site share my veeam server. How can i on easiest way connect to it. I dont want that my remote sites are visible on internet only veeam. How can i fix that without vpn.
Second: what u mean with local proxy server. Is that some role or program what i should install on each server or?
Ultra_Cool
Service Provider
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:18 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: Veeam replication vs hyper-v 2012 replication

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Nov 11, 2012 7:11 pm

Ultra_Cool wrote:How can i on easiest way connect to it. I dont want that my remote sites are visible on internet only veeam. How can i fix that without vpn.

But if you're able to connect to Veeam proxy/repository over the internet without VPN connection, then your remotes sites are already accessible, aren't they?
Ultra_Cool wrote:Second: what u mean with local proxy server. Is that some role or program what i should install on each server or?

Proxy server is a data mover component (Veeam backup infrastructure) that is used by backup and replication jobs. Please check out our User Guide to review available proxy server types and their deployment guidelines.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19566
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam replication vs hyper-v 2012 replication

Veeam Logoby Ultra_Cool » Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:08 pm

Hej VItaliy, which ports i should open from internet to my veeam server. I guess that Installer 6160, transport 6162 hyper-v integration 6163 and Data transfer options : port range 2500-5000 is for client side.
Ultra_Cool
Service Provider
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:18 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: Veeam replication vs hyper-v 2012 replication

Veeam Logoby Ultra_Cool » Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:13 pm

I found it :)
Ultra_Cool
Service Provider
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:18 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: Veeam replication vs hyper-v 2012 replication

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:22 pm

Yes, also you should also open ports required for deploying Veeam Backup & Replication components - 135, 137-139, 445.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19566
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam replication vs hyper-v 2012 replication

Veeam Logoby Ultra_Cool » Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:35 pm

That is on client side. from client to server is range 2500-5000 and is that mean if i have 10 servers that i need to have 10 public ip addresses
Ultra_Cool
Service Provider
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:18 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: Veeam replication vs hyper-v 2012 replication

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:47 pm

Yes, either public IP address or VPN connection is required.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19566
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam replication vs hyper-v 2012 replication

Veeam Logoby Ultra_Cool » Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:48 pm

Hello. Something is really strange with veeam or with my server. I open all ports on my hyper-v server and disble all on my router (example wan blocking) and veeam server. Veeam server has public ip and i can ping both server and veeam. I turned off firewall on both directions and still keep getting error (unable to connect via WMI. The RPC server is unavailable). I dont know what to do more an this???

In dpm i can install agent manually and like that get connection to servers in un-trusted domain and workgroups. Does veeam has option like that?
Ultra_Cool
Service Provider
 
Posts: 125
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:18 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: Veeam replication vs hyper-v 2012 replication

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Nov 13, 2012 7:44 am

Ultra_Cool wrote:unable to connect via WMI. The RPC server is unavailable

Try to access WMI manually to verify the connection. Anyway, I think it's better to contact our support team and ask for assistance in setting everything up via a remote WebEx session.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19566
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Previous

Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: foggy, Yahoo [Bot] and 10 guests