Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
KelKnowles
Service Provider
Posts: 30
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sep 15, 2012 8:01 pm
Full Name: Kelly Michael Knowles
Contact:

Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by KelKnowles » Feb 10, 2015 1:42 pm

I have noticed for at least a year that when I use Veeam with a SCVMM server that I am unable to remove Hyper-V hosts from the Veeam console even if they are removed from SCVMM. This usually ends with me having to manually remove the servers from the Veeam SQL database. I was hoping it would be fixed in version 8 but it seems to still be the case. Would it be possible to see if other people are having the same issue or can reproduce and also if there is a workaround? At this point I have began to add hosts and clusters without SCVMM until I know this issue is resolved.
Kelly Knowles
Principal Systems Architect at PNJ Technology Partners
Veeam Certified Architect and Veeam Certified Engineer - Advanced: Design & Optimization

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17075
Liked: 1475 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by veremin » Feb 10, 2015 1:47 pm

Have you ever opened a support ticket regarding that behaviour?

KelKnowles
Service Provider
Posts: 30
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sep 15, 2012 8:01 pm
Full Name: Kelly Michael Knowles
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by KelKnowles » Feb 10, 2015 1:51 pm

I have not opened a case. I don't have any customers with this issue currently.
Kelly Knowles
Principal Systems Architect at PNJ Technology Partners
Veeam Certified Architect and Veeam Certified Engineer - Advanced: Design & Optimization

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18458
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by foggy » Feb 10, 2015 2:09 pm

Kelly, do you have patch 1 installed? It contains fix to a similar issue:
• Removing a node from a cluster does not remove the corresponding node from the cluster object on the Backup Infrastructure tab of the management tree.

KelKnowles
Service Provider
Posts: 30
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sep 15, 2012 8:01 pm
Full Name: Kelly Michael Knowles
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by KelKnowles » Feb 10, 2015 2:19 pm

All my customers do have 8.0 patch 1 at this point. When I did original testing it did not have patch 1. I can test on a new install but it might be several weeks for me to do so. I admit I was hoping somebody would be in a position to reproduce this and confirm or dispute that it was still an issue. Because I am unable to leave a backup job mapped to no hosts, I am also unable to change between a host being registered directly and through SCVMM without recreating the backup job.
Kelly Knowles
Principal Systems Architect at PNJ Technology Partners
Veeam Certified Architect and Veeam Certified Engineer - Advanced: Design & Optimization

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18458
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by foggy » Feb 10, 2015 2:38 pm

I got you, passed this to QC for additional check.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18458
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by foggy » Feb 10, 2015 2:45 pm

And that was a quick one, the issue is confirmed and planned for addressing. Thanks for the heads up!

cbrenner
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 22, 2015 9:37 am
Full Name: Carsten Brenner
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by cbrenner » Jun 22, 2015 9:45 am

Hello, we're experiencing the same problem. Were you able to fix it already?

Many thanks in advance!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18458
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by foggy » Jun 22, 2015 10:51 am 1 person likes this post

As far as I know, the plan was to fix this the next major release.

Cullan
Service Provider
Posts: 107
Liked: 14 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 8:47 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by Cullan » Jun 08, 2016 11:24 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi,

Any idea if this was pushed into a release? We have this issue and wondering if there is a fix yet?

Thanks,
Cullan

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17075
Liked: 1475 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by veremin » Jun 09, 2016 6:45 am

Just to double check - you're currently on the latest product version which is version 9 Update 1, aren't you? Thanks.

Cullan
Service Provider
Posts: 107
Liked: 14 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 8:47 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by Cullan » Jun 09, 2016 8:57 pm

Hi thats right.
9.0.0.1491

-Cullan

Cullan
Service Provider
Posts: 107
Liked: 14 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 8:47 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by Cullan » Aug 10, 2016 2:49 am

Hi,
This still seems to be an issue with 9.0.0.1715
-Cullan

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17075
Liked: 1475 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by veremin » Aug 10, 2016 11:08 am

Then, it stands to reason to open a ticket with our support team and let them inspect that closely. Thanks.

Cullan
Service Provider
Posts: 107
Liked: 14 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 8:47 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by Cullan » Aug 10, 2016 8:23 pm

Thanks, I'll see what they say.

roland_nl
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 25, 2016 7:32 am
Full Name: Roland
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by roland_nl » Aug 25, 2016 7:43 am

I was facing the same issue (9.0.0.1715) and was able to remove the (unavailable) Hyper-V hosts from PowerShell using the Remove-VBRServer cmdlet.

lesterclayton
Service Provider
Posts: 5
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 17, 2012 9:47 am
Full Name: Lester Clayton
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by lesterclayton » Nov 17, 2016 10:36 am 1 person likes this post

Thanks to roland_nl, I have also been able to resolve my issue. Some more info for others - close the backup and replication console and re-open so that it doesn't use the cache and still display the servers even after you've removed them.

A suggestion for Veeam - you should make it so that when you "Rescan" a SCVMM server, it will move servers that it no longer considers part of the inventory to the "Microsoft Windows" tab, where people are actually able to delete hosts using the console instead.

nmdange
Expert
Posts: 479
Liked: 120 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam SCVMM Integration - Removing Hosts

Post by nmdange » Nov 17, 2016 2:45 pm

Actually instead of doing "Rescan" if you right-click the SCVMM server and go to "Properties" and then just Next->Next through the wizard it will remove the hosts that were removed from VMM. Not obvious but it worked for me :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests