Veeam v7 install on Server 2012 with no GUI.

Hyper-V specific discussions

Veeam v7 install on Server 2012 with no GUI.

Veeam Logoby ashleyw » Tue Aug 06, 2013 4:15 am

Hi,
we are planning a VCD and Veeam v7 infrastucture right now. Which of the following Veeam components can run on windows Server 2012 with GUI removed?
- Backup Repository
- Backup proxy
- Veeam v7 B&R Console
- Veeam One (Veeam Monitor+Veeam Business view)

For various reasons, we would prefer to run 2012 with GUI removed for all layers if this is possible.

thanks
Ashley
ashleyw
Service Provider
 
Posts: 137
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson

Re: Veeam v7 install on Server 2012 with no GUI.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Aug 06, 2013 7:53 am

Ashley, Veeam B&R console and Veeam ONE must be installed on a full-blown OS, while backup proxy and backup repository components do support installation on Core Windows servers. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam v7 install on Server 2012 with no GUI.

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:23 am

The following Veeam components can run on Windows Server 2012 with GUI removed:
• Backup proxy
• Backup repository
• Enterprise Manager
• WAN accelerator

Also, I am not positive B&R console cannot run on core, it may actually work... I've seen other GUI tools work fine on core. I just don't think this was ever tested in v7 though (and unlikely that it will be tested, no time).
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam v7 install on Server 2012 with no GUI.

Veeam Logoby ashleyw » Wed Aug 07, 2013 4:16 am

thanks guys, we'll run some tests on our side as part of our roll out and provide some feedback when we can.

cheers
Ashley
ashleyw
Service Provider
 
Posts: 137
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson

Re: Veeam v7 install on Server 2012 with no GUI.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Aug 07, 2013 6:53 am

Would be much appreciated.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam v7 install on Server 2012 with no GUI.

Veeam Logoby nefes » Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:50 pm

Gostev wrote:Also, I am not positive B&R console cannot run on core, it may actually work... I've seen other GUI tools work fine on core. I just don't think this was ever tested in v7 though (and unlikely that it will be tested, no time).

Actually, I've tried this with V7 and Free Hyper-V 2012.
Veeam B&R Console needs some GUI components that are not included into that OS, so Console fails to start.
nefes
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 534
Liked: 125 times
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am
Full Name: Nikita Efes

Re: Veeam v7 install on Server 2012 with no GUI.

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:23 pm

Thanks, Nikita. Do you know which components specifically? May be they can be added separately?
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

[MERGED] Veeam 7 install on server core

Veeam Logoby frankive » Mon Oct 21, 2013 4:55 pm

Hi.
We are supporting very small companis with just one server. We want to protect this servers with Veeam. The clients often choose the Windows Server 2012 Essentials. We also want to virtualize whenever we can. Since 2012 Essentials dont have a full blown server installation to use as a hypervisor we have to use the Hyper-V Free Edition.
My question is:
Does Veeam support installing Veeam 7 on the Hyper-V free edition? And is there any good way to manage Veeam in this way if it works?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Veeam v7 install on Server 2012 with no GUI.

Veeam Logoby nefes » Tue Oct 22, 2013 8:07 am

Sorry for being late on reply to this, but better later than never.
Veeam 7.0 Backup Console will not start on Free Hyper-V 2012 because of lack of some classes in Windows.Forms.
It is stated by Microsoft that .Net is included into 2012 Core editions, but it seems that it contains only some limited set of classes.

If clients have at least one Essentials server, virtualized inside Free Hyper-V, maybe it is better to set up Backup Console on it?
nefes
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 534
Liked: 125 times
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am
Full Name: Nikita Efes

Re: Veeam v7 install on Server 2012 with no GUI.

Veeam Logoby frankive » Wed Dec 11, 2013 8:36 pm

would it be better to have a lan-to-lan with the customer and just use our veeam server (we have vcp license) and add the customers server like it was just a ordinary server on our lan?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Veeam v7 install on Server 2012 with no GUI.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Dec 12, 2013 10:31 am

Yes, that would be more efficient from the management standpoint.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam v7 install on Server 2012 with no GUI.

Veeam Logoby frankive » Thu Dec 12, 2013 2:38 pm

Then I won't be using backup copy job, but use regular backup job? If I have multiple customer is this more secure than to share repository with multiple customers?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Veeam v7 install on Server 2012 with no GUI.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Dec 12, 2013 3:39 pm

You can use either of them. Security should be implemented with the help of NTFS permissions, so it does not correlate with Veeam B&R architecture.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Hyper-v Server 2012

Veeam Logoby sigjas » Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:02 am

I installed veeam on our Hyper-v server 2012. Now how do I start the management console?

jason
sigjas
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:12 pm
Full Name: jason sigurdur

Re: Hyper-v Server 2012

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Dec 03, 2014 9:27 am

You can use the shortcut on your desktop, or go to All Programs -> Veeam -> Veeam Backup and Replication. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Next

Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 8 guests