Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
CH79
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 05, 2020 10:25 am
Full Name: Chris House
Contact:

Veeam with two Hyper-V hosts - how best to use?

Post by CH79 »

We have two on-premises Hyper-V hosts. One host runs the live VMs and we use Hyper-V Replica to replicate the VMs to the second host.

Veeam Backup and Replication is currently installed on host 1 and this backs up the VMs to a NAS as well as to the cloud via a separate copy job.

If/when we fail over to host 2 (say for maintenance purposes etc.) and run the live VMs from there how would we go about using Veeam on the second host and doing our backups from there instead?

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 7895
Liked: 1374 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Veeam with two Hyper-V hosts - how best to use?

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
backing up from a failed over machine would result in a new backup job / new full backup.

Best regards,
Hannes

CH79
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 05, 2020 10:25 am
Full Name: Chris House
Contact:

Re: Veeam with two Hyper-V hosts - how best to use?

Post by CH79 »

Would it?

So if we failed over to the second host for a couple of days say for maintenance purposes, Veeam on the second host would treat the replicated VMs as new files and do new full backups of them? What about the cloud backups?

Then when we revert back to the first host it would start the whole process over again?

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 7895
Liked: 1374 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Veeam with two Hyper-V hosts - how best to use?

Post by HannesK » 1 person likes this post

a replicated VM is a different VM. different VM = different job. yes :-)

If you failback to the original VMs, then the backups of the original VMs will continue where they stopped. As everything is still the same like before failover, cloud backups also continue (backup copy jobs to cloud connect or SOBR with capacity tier)

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5911
Liked: 597 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam with two Hyper-V hosts - how best to use?

Post by PTide »

Unless I am missing something about your use-case, it seems that you could stick with backing up only the replica VMs.

Thanks!

CH79
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 05, 2020 10:25 am
Full Name: Chris House
Contact:

Re: Veeam with two Hyper-V hosts - how best to use?

Post by CH79 »

HannesK wrote: Apr 26, 2021 4:19 pm a replicated VM is a different VM. different VM = different job. yes :-)

If you failback to the original VMs, then the backups of the original VMs will continue where they stopped. As everything is still the same like before failover, cloud backups also continue (backup copy jobs to cloud connect or SOBR with capacity tier)
Thanks. Understand it now.

I think we will continue as at present with Veeam just on the primary host. We'd fail back to the primary host after maintenance anyway so it makes sense to do things that way.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests