Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
Cragdoo
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 549
Liked: 218 times
Joined: Sep 27, 2011 12:17 pm
Full Name: Craig Dalrymple
Location: Scotland
Contact:

virtual lab - network issue

Post by Cragdoo » Nov 23, 2018 12:28 pm

I'm trying to setup a new virtual lab on my HyperV cluster, and when I come to stage about configuring the proxy appliance, I click on the 'configure' button under 'Production network connection', then on the setting screen I click on 'Browse' to set the Production network. When I browse the production network all I can see are the Production Network switches, I cannot see any of the actual VM networks. Am I missing something? I need to assign the proxy to an existing VM network, to allow communication to the VBR server. I can specify the correct VLAN, but when I check the properties of the proxy appliance on the HyperV cluster, it won't allow me to manually reconfigure the proxy VM to use the correct VM network.

Am I missing something or misunderstanding the setup? I have setup SureBackup on VMware hosts no problem, HyperV seems to be a completely different beast

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18568
Liked: 1608 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: virtual lab - network issue

Post by foggy » Nov 23, 2018 3:13 pm

Hi Craig, currently only VM switches on Hyper-V nodes are supported, VM networks are not.

Cragdoo
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 549
Liked: 218 times
Joined: Sep 27, 2011 12:17 pm
Full Name: Craig Dalrymple
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: virtual lab - network issue

Post by Cragdoo » Nov 23, 2018 3:17 pm

thanks Foggy .....so VM networks on VMware but not Hyper-V ??? wow

back to the drawing board.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18568
Liked: 1608 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: virtual lab - network issue

Post by foggy » Nov 23, 2018 3:23 pm

Yes, we should mention this among limitations in the user guide.

Cragdoo
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 549
Liked: 218 times
Joined: Sep 27, 2011 12:17 pm
Full Name: Craig Dalrymple
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: virtual lab - network issue

Post by Cragdoo » Nov 23, 2018 3:27 pm


Cragdoo
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 549
Liked: 218 times
Joined: Sep 27, 2011 12:17 pm
Full Name: Craig Dalrymple
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: virtual lab - network issue

Post by Cragdoo » Nov 23, 2018 3:37 pm

aah ...ok, so some egg on my face. When I mention VM networks, this appears to only a SCVMM concept, the underlying HyperV host doesn't really understand VM networks, it's just a nice visual aid. Serves me right for trying to apply VMware thinking to HyperV .....lesson learned

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: George Boncea and 12 guests