Virtual Lab on Backup Server

Hyper-V specific discussions

Virtual Lab on Backup Server

Veeam Logoby mbedk » Thu Jun 23, 2016 12:13 pm

Hi

If I enable the Hyper-v role on my backup server, can I use it for the virtual lab feature?

In the virtual lab wizard I have to select a hyper-v host, but I guess I have to add my backup server as a hyper-v server, even though it's already added as a backup server.
mbedk
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 8:31 am
Full Name: Martin

Re: Virtual Lab on Backup Server

Veeam Logoby nmdange » Thu Jun 23, 2016 2:00 pm

Assuming it's a physical server yes you could do this, as long as your backup server has enough free resources (CPU/memory) to run the virtual lab.
nmdange
Expert
 
Posts: 193
Liked: 57 times
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm

Re: Virtual Lab on Backup Server

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jun 24, 2016 8:50 am

If I enable the Hyper-v role on my backup server, can I use it for the virtual lab feature?

What kind of operating system does it have? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 969 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Virtual Lab on Backup Server

Veeam Logoby mbedk » Fri Jun 24, 2016 8:51 am

Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard
mbedk
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 8:31 am
Full Name: Martin

Re: Virtual Lab on Backup Server

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jun 24, 2016 9:15 am

Then, the answers is yes, as long as it's a physical server. Don't turn a blind eye to additional resource requirements that this scenario will certainly introduce.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 969 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Virtual Lab on Backup Server

Veeam Logoby -=MACROS=- » Thu Jun 30, 2016 9:46 pm

mbedk wrote:Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard


Hi mbedk,

please keep in mind, default licensing of Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard allows running up to two Virtual Instances on your Hypervisor.
If you plan to deploy more vServer or using large Virtual Lab Environment consider to purchase Datacenter License eventually.

Good luck
-=MACROS=-
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 12:18 pm
Location: Germany, Nuremberg
Full Name: Rodion Fedin


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests