Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
talltim
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mar 29, 2021 11:52 am
Full Name: Tim David
Contact:

Virtual Lab with a HyperV Cluster

Post by talltim »

I'm in the process of setting up Surebackup. I created a Virtual Lab OK, but its only on one HyperV host. Over the weekend the hosts in the cluster were rebooted one by one for Windows updates. This mean that the Virtual Lab moved to a different host, and when the SurebAckup job ran it failed as it couldn't find the Lab
Is there a way to place the Lab in the cluster rather than on one individual host?

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 2001
Liked: 474 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab with a HyperV Cluster

Post by Egor Yakovlev » 1 person likes this post

Hi Tim.

No, host is the only valid target for Hyper-V virtual lab.
I believe you can set (anti)affinity rules(host preference) - in your virtual lab VM configuration, so that virtual lab VM migrates back after the maintenance.

/Thanks!

talltim
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mar 29, 2021 11:52 am
Full Name: Tim David
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab with a HyperV Cluster

Post by talltim » 1 person likes this post

Thanks. I found those settings in HyperV and set the Preferred Owner and also the Failback setting to Allow Failback Immediately. This looks like the best solution within the limitations.
Image
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests