VM not being connected - Virtual Lab

Hyper-V specific discussions

VM not being connected - Virtual Lab

Veeam Logoby frankive » Mon Nov 24, 2014 5:42 pm

Trying to setup a SureBackup job in our datacenter but no matter what I do I just get "ping test will be skipped. the vm is not connected to any private network". If I go to the hyper-v manager I see that it has the right settings for the vlan and virtual switch, but it will not connect.
If I can connect it manually it all works, but I want to automate the surebackupjob.

What could cause this?

The veeam server is running 2012 R2 with latest Veeam 8. 24GB Ram. Just trying with 2-3 servers in the application group.
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: VM not being connected - Virtual Lab

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:13 pm

Hello Frank,
The possible reason is not ideal environment with more than one domain controller (if starting more than one DC in SureBackup job), as DC preparation procedures will be skipped in this case.
Also have you contacted Veeam technical support team? If yes, please provide support case #.
Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: VM not being connected - Virtual Lab

Veeam Logoby frankive » Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:00 am

I am only running 1 domain controller in that job.
support case with logs: 00686984
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: VM not being connected - Virtual Lab

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:30 am

What Hyper-V host do you use for the SureBackup job? Is it the same (production one) or a different host? If it is a different one, does it have the same network names as a source host for the backed up VMs?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19566
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VM not being connected - Virtual Lab

Veeam Logoby frankive » Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:43 am

I am running the SureBackup on the Veeamserver itself which has hyper-v enabled and pretty good with RAM.
So the hyper-v host is the Veeam Server in other words.

No, the name of the virtual swich in the datecenter and on my network card on the veeam server is not the same. Is this an issue which could cause this?
I will try to rename the virtual swich name on my veeam server to the same as my production environment and post the results.
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: VM not being connected - Virtual Lab

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:54 am

Yes, this could be one of the reasons for the message in the SB job log.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19566
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VM not being connected - Virtual Lab

Veeam Logoby frankive » Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:03 am 2 people like this post

And you were right. That solved everything :)

Case closed!
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: VM not being connected - Virtual Lab

Veeam Logoby nefes » Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:52 am 1 person likes this post

In future you could add another network mapping rule to your virtual lab instead of renaming virtual switch in infrastructure.
nefes
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 534
Liked: 125 times
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am
Full Name: Nikita Efes


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DGrinev, foggy, Vitaliy S. and 9 guests