Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
spechty
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2010 3:11 pm
Contact:

502 Bad Gateway

Post by spechty »

I have just installed monitor and recieve (502) bad gateway and cannot connect to the VM Hosts.

Any idea?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24353
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello,

Could you tell us if you are able to access your hosts using browser via ip address or a hostname? Do you have any proxy servers presented?

Thank you!

spechty
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2010 3:11 pm
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by spechty »

I do have a proxy server in my network.

All VM serversa are local

I can reach the EXS welcome screen for both IP and hostname

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24353
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Could you please review this topic for the possible resolution: Veeam Monitor tries to connect to ESX via proxy server Might help. Thank you!

spechty
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2010 3:11 pm
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by spechty »

Did not correct the problem

I changed the service to log on as a domain admin. which does not get our ISA proxy settings applied.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24353
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by Vitaliy S. »

I will ask our QC to try to reproduce the issue, and as soon as I get any iformation from them, I will update this thread.

spechty
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2010 3:11 pm
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by spechty »

Wanted to update this.

I can now see one of my ESX hosts. I see the guests on the system, although there is still the error message.

I see no reporting of hardware ect. It states connection problem.

toast
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: May 11, 2010 2:31 pm
Full Name: toast
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by toast »

Same problem here.
When i sniff on the monitoring server there is not even going any network traffic to the esx server while trying to connect.
Any sollutions so far?

Installation is on a new clean Win2008 R2 server.
Connecting directly with explorer is not a problem (proxy is disabled).
Connecting from within veeam monitor ( Open with VI client) works also.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24353
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello,

Could you tell us if you were trying to connect to ESX hosts wih the same user account stated as logon user for Veeam Data Collector Service?

toast
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: May 11, 2010 2:31 pm
Full Name: toast
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by toast »

Hello,

Thank you for the feedback.

As for your question: no

The data collector service is running as local system account (from the win server) , the esx accounts are local root accounts from the esx hosts.


As mentioned in my previous post: the is no data communication going from the winserver (veeammonitor) to the esx host when i sniff this traffic.



kind regards

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24353
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Can you try changing local system account for the Data Collector service to the account you're currently logged in to the Monitor server, and see if this solves the issue or not.

Thank you!

toast
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: May 11, 2010 2:31 pm
Full Name: toast
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by toast »

Hi

That seems to work for hosts that are hosting servers who are member of the same domain as the monitoring server.
It is not working for servers who are in a lab environement (different domain).
Is there a workaround for those?

Kind regards and thank you for the support.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24353
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi,

Hm... could you please clarify if you're trying to add standalone hosts or vCenter? I'm not sure how different domain works for ESX hosts, as those are linux machines and cannot be added to the domain. Also could there be any hardware proxy/firewall on the lab environment site?

toast
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: May 11, 2010 2:31 pm
Full Name: toast
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by toast »

Hi

There seemed to be a difference in time between the monitoring server and the lab environement.
A resync solved this issue.

I was unther the impression that there was a link between the domain because of the suggestion to let the service run as the logged on user instead of the system account and because of the fact that te monitoring server needs to be part of the domain.

Is it possible that veeam monitor is not able to monitor the hardware of some rather recent Dell servers?

Kind regards and thanks again for the support.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24353
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi,

Thank you for sharing the resolution with us. Glad that you're up and running now!
Yes, it could be, but could you please check if you see any hardware data using vSphere Client for those Dell servers?

Thanks!

toast
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: May 11, 2010 2:31 pm
Full Name: toast
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by toast »

Hello

Yes,

when using vsphere client to connect from within veeam monitor i see the hardware info just fine.
When using veeam monitor itself i get " Hardware information data is not availbable for this host"

Also globaly (info for all the hosts/guests) performance information (cpu, disk usage, memory, network info and so on) is not available for any host.

Regards

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24353
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello,

Could you tell me if you have any performance data coming to your Veeam server at all? Anyway I would have checked logs from Options -> Server Settings -> Logs folder for any error messages.

Also please note if you are using paid version, please feel free to contact our support directly for assistance

Thanks!

toast
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: May 11, 2010 2:31 pm
Full Name: toast
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by toast »

Hello,

No, there is no performance data at all.

In the logs i get several different errors

Unknown error 0x80131501 (Code: 0x80131501, Source: System.Web.Services, Description: A general system error occurred: )

A database error (code:0x80040E2F, ) has occured in context of storing event in database. Error information follows
Error record 1 of 2: The statement has been terminated.
Error record 2 of 2: Violation of PRIMARY KEY constraint 'PK_Events'. Cannot insert duplicate key in object 'dbo.Event
Throwing exception.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24353
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Could you please search for "Collecting performance data..." errors, do you see any of those? By the way what collection mode are you using Advanced Scalability or Typical?

toast
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: May 11, 2010 2:31 pm
Full Name: toast
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by toast »

Hello

I was running in advanced scalability mode.
By changing to typical mode i started to see performance data. When i change back to advanced mode everything stops again.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24353
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Ok... could you please specify what hosts are you trying to monitor? Are those ESXi free by any chance?

toast
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: May 11, 2010 2:31 pm
Full Name: toast
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by toast »

so far yes,
I just added a vc

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24353
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Oh, now everything makes sense, ESXi free hosts are not visible in advanced scalability mode. Could you tell me how many hosts are you currently monitoring? Unless you're monitoring a very large virtual infrastructure, I would recommend you using typical monitoring mode.

Because typical mode is intended for monitoring virtual infrastructure in the real time, storing data within a limited time range and/or collecting data for not very large VI environments.

And if you choose advanced mode, it is intended for analyzing data within great VI deployments using a number of vCenters. The advanced mode can be used if it is necessary to trace the general dynamics of collected data, instead of the real-time data monitoring.

But if you've just added vCenter connection to Monitor application, you should be able to see all the performance data for your Virtual Objects in both modes.

toast
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: May 11, 2010 2:31 pm
Full Name: toast
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by toast »

Hi,

Oké,
Whe have just one VC so i think typical mode should be oké then
All the rest are running on esxi for now.

Thank you again for the effort/support you have given!

Kind regards

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24353
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Yes, Typical mode will be more than enough. Glad that we made it work for you!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests