502 Bad Gateway

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

502 Bad Gateway

Veeam Logoby spechty » Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:15 pm

I have just installed monitor and recieve (502) bad gateway and cannot connect to the VM Hosts.

Any idea?
spechty
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:11 pm

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:41 pm

Hello,

Could you tell us if you are able to access your hosts using browser via ip address or a hostname? Do you have any proxy servers presented?

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Veeam Logoby spechty » Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:15 pm

I do have a proxy server in my network.

All VM serversa are local

I can reach the EXS welcome screen for both IP and hostname
spechty
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:11 pm

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Mar 11, 2010 2:29 pm

Could you please review this topic for the possible resolution: Veeam Monitor tries to connect to ESX via proxy server Might help. Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Veeam Logoby spechty » Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:51 pm

Did not correct the problem

I changed the service to log on as a domain admin. which does not get our ISA proxy settings applied.
spechty
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:11 pm

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Mar 11, 2010 4:09 pm

I will ask our QC to try to reproduce the issue, and as soon as I get any iformation from them, I will update this thread.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Veeam Logoby spechty » Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:17 pm

Wanted to update this.

I can now see one of my ESX hosts. I see the guests on the system, although there is still the error message.

I see no reporting of hardware ect. It states connection problem.
spechty
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:11 pm

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Veeam Logoby toast » Tue May 11, 2010 2:34 pm

Same problem here.
When i sniff on the monitoring server there is not even going any network traffic to the esx server while trying to connect.
Any sollutions so far?

Installation is on a new clean Win2008 R2 server.
Connecting directly with explorer is not a problem (proxy is disabled).
Connecting from within veeam monitor ( Open with VI client) works also.
toast
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 2:31 pm
Full Name: toast

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue May 11, 2010 3:05 pm

Hello,

Could you tell us if you were trying to connect to ESX hosts wih the same user account stated as logon user for Veeam Data Collector Service?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Veeam Logoby toast » Tue May 11, 2010 6:07 pm

Hello,

Thank you for the feedback.

As for your question: no

The data collector service is running as local system account (from the win server) , the esx accounts are local root accounts from the esx hosts.


As mentioned in my previous post: the is no data communication going from the winserver (veeammonitor) to the esx host when i sniff this traffic.



kind regards
toast
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 2:31 pm
Full Name: toast

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed May 12, 2010 8:39 am

Can you try changing local system account for the Data Collector service to the account you're currently logged in to the Monitor server, and see if this solves the issue or not.

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Veeam Logoby toast » Wed May 12, 2010 1:30 pm

Hi

That seems to work for hosts that are hosting servers who are member of the same domain as the monitoring server.
It is not working for servers who are in a lab environement (different domain).
Is there a workaround for those?

Kind regards and thank you for the support.
toast
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 2:31 pm
Full Name: toast

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed May 12, 2010 3:19 pm

Hi,

Hm... could you please clarify if you're trying to add standalone hosts or vCenter? I'm not sure how different domain works for ESX hosts, as those are linux machines and cannot be added to the domain. Also could there be any hardware proxy/firewall on the lab environment site?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Veeam Logoby toast » Mon May 17, 2010 1:08 pm

Hi

There seemed to be a difference in time between the monitoring server and the lab environement.
A resync solved this issue.

I was unther the impression that there was a link between the domain because of the suggestion to let the service run as the logged on user instead of the system account and because of the fact that te monitoring server needs to be part of the domain.

Is it possible that veeam monitor is not able to monitor the hardware of some rather recent Dell servers?

Kind regards and thanks again for the support.
toast
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 2:31 pm
Full Name: toast

Re: 502 Bad Gateway

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon May 17, 2010 1:15 pm

Hi,

Thank you for sharing the resolution with us. Glad that you're up and running now!
Yes, it could be, but could you please check if you see any hardware data using vSphere Client for those Dell servers?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Next

Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests