Alarm loses Network VM&Host

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Alarm loses Network VM&Host

Veeam Logoby adrianIDC » Mon Oct 26, 2015 9:27 am

Hi guys!

I need to have an alarm notice ( e- mail ) when a VM and Hyper-V host loses network connection .

I have set the alarm for the VM which is ( the share )

Conect Network: 12597 Microsoft-Windows-Hyper-V-SynthNic
Disconnect Network; 12598 Microsoft-Windows-Hyper-V-SynthNic

I think the alarm goes off because Veeam ONE is in constant communication (eg ping) with the VM and when to stop responding the alarm . There are cases that the loss is 1 second and re- connect . I was wondering if you can set the delay.
For example , if the machine falls in 10 seconds and it has not returned the connection, if I warn you of this .
adrianIDC
Expert
 
Posts: 179
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Alarm loses Network VM&Host

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:59 pm

If I'm getting you right, then currently this is possible through the registry value only, so please contact support for details. v9, however, will have this as built-in capability.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Alarm loses Network VM&Host

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Nov 01, 2015 7:09 pm 1 person likes this post

adrianIDC wrote:I have set the alarm for the VM which is ( the share )

Conect Network: 12597 Microsoft-Windows-Hyper-V-SynthNic
Disconnect Network; 12598 Microsoft-Windows-Hyper-V-SynthNic

Did you setup these alarms yourself? As far as I see they are event based, correct?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1100 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Alarm loses Network VM&Host

Veeam Logoby adrianIDC » Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:51 am

yes Vitaliy
They are based on the events seen in the Task & Events tab
adrianIDC
Expert
 
Posts: 179
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Alarm loses Network VM&Host

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Nov 02, 2015 10:11 am

In this case I would suggest using trigger after option as a tolerance setting for your alarm. If you set it to 2 or more, then alarm will only be triggered if two events are captured by Veeam ONE server.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1100 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Alarm loses Network VM&Host

Veeam Logoby adrianIDC » Fri Nov 06, 2015 11:47 am

if the trigger it's 0?
adrianIDC
Expert
 
Posts: 179
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Alarm loses Network VM&Host

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Nov 06, 2015 12:08 pm 1 person likes this post

Then alarm should be triggered every time the event occurs.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1100 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests