Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
ewgee
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 01, 2009 5:20 pm
Full Name: Court Gramm
Contact:

Cannot add ESX server using hostname

Post by ewgee »

I am unable to add any ESX hosts to Veeam Monitor by hostname, but I can add them by IP. Anyone have any ideas?

-These are new installs of Veeam Monitor 4.0.0.144 and ESXi 4.
-I can ping and resolve the hostname from the XP desktop that has Veeam Monitor installed.
-I have tried to add both ESXi 3.5 and ESXi 4 hosts, both only work via IP.

Here is the error log when I try to add it with a hostname.

Opening URL 'https://esxi.domain.com:443/client/clients.xml'"
"Unable to load/parse clients.xml: The underlying connection was closed: An unexpected error occurred on a send."
"XML Content:(null)"
"Connect to host failed - The underlying connection was closed: An unexpected error occurred on a send."
"Collecting thread has failed to initialize and will be stopped"
"Collecting thread exits"

I can get to 'https://esxi.domain.com:443/client/clients.xml' from my XP desktop.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26700
Liked: 4275 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Cannot add ESX server using hostname

Post by Gostev »

Hello, can you connect to these servers by hostname using VMware Infrastructure Client?

ewgee
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 01, 2009 5:20 pm
Full Name: Court Gramm
Contact:

Re: Cannot add ESX server using hostname

Post by ewgee »

Yes I can connect to the servers by hostname using VMware Infrastructure Client

ssimakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 359
Liked: 62 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Stanislav Simakov
Contact:

Re: Cannot add ESX server using hostname

Post by ssimakov »

Court, could you please open a support case by sending all logs to support@veeam.com?

ewgee
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 01, 2009 5:20 pm
Full Name: Court Gramm
Contact:

Re: Cannot add ESX server using hostname

Post by ewgee »

I have sent the logs to support@veeam.com.

DJVMware
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 31, 2010 1:34 pm
Full Name: Dan Jellz

Re: Cannot add ESX server using hostname

Post by DJVMware »

Having this issue and would like to see what the resolution was. Can you please provide?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24249
Liked: 1860 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Cannot add ESX server using hostname

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Dan,

Unfortunately, OP hasn't mentioned his support ticket number, so I cannot update you on the resolution. Please contact our support team for assistance directly.

Thank you!

ZachW
Enthusiast
Posts: 68
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Aug 02, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Zach Weed
Contact:

Re: Cannot add ESX server using hostname

Post by ZachW »

With this specific case Court needed to make a manual DNS entry. Although this was the case, it is possible this is not your issue. Please open up a support case and we can see what's going on.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests