Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
kflorian
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 29, 2011 3:56 pm

Does monitor report raid health?

Post by kflorian »

Two questions:

If I can see raid drives in an array in the veeam user interface:

1. Can I assume that a failed drive would trigger an alarm and if so
2. Can VEEAM (free or pay) alert me via email or sms?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24355
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Does monitor report raid health?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Ken,

Yes, Veeam Monitor alerts on all alarms via emails. You will not receive an alarm related to RAID configuration, but if one of the disks fails you will definitely receive an alarm.

Thanks.

sandiegosean
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: May 27, 2012 3:52 am
Full Name: sean goss
Contact:

Re: Does monitor report raid health?

Post by sandiegosean »

when you say disks do you mean virtual disks or physical disks? Also what if the raid goes into a degraded state will veeam let us know?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24355
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Does monitor report raid health?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Sean,

I'm talking about hardware disks (physical) disks that are "visible" through VMware API.

RAID configuration is not monitored by Veeam ONE Monitor, but you can take a look at all available hardware sensors for each ESX(i) being monitored on a Hardware Tab in Monitor Client. Furthermore, if one of your datastores goes down, Veeam ONE Monitor will also notify you about that through built-in set of alarms.

Thanks!

mehdi.moha
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 09, 2014 9:22 am
Contact:

Re: Does monitor report raid health?

Post by mehdi.moha »

can you please let me now the " alarm name" that enable me to have report from physical raid on ESXI ?

mehdi.moha
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 09, 2014 9:22 am
Contact:

[MERGED] : Monitor Physical RAID on ESXI

Post by mehdi.moha »

Hi
i found this : http://forums.veeam.com/post107966.html#p107966 on your forum , as that thread is made on 2011 , i think ( maybe) you have new feature to support my problem as well :) cross finger ;)

I have RAID 3 , 5 ... on my ESXI and need to monitor them as soon as they failed .
so , would you please let me know , how can i do that ?
if have a alarm for mentioned problem , please let me know the name of Alarm , cause i couldn't find that on Alarm TAB .

Best Regards .

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17911
Liked: 1675 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Does monitor report raid health?

Post by veremin »

You should select required host in the inventory pane, open the Hardware tab, and, then, proceed to Storage sensor. I believe this is what Vitaliy was talking about.

Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24355
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Does monitor report raid health?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Yes, hardware health can be monitored within Hardware tab in monitor client. This tab will show you all sensors that are available via vSphere API.

battles
Service Provider
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 07, 2017 2:03 pm
Full Name: Battles
Contact:

Re: Does monitor report raid health?

Post by battles »

Is the hardware tab only available for VMware? What about Hyper-V? I'm in need of disk health monitoring with Hyper-V.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1789 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Does monitor report raid health?

Post by foggy »

Yes, sensors are available only for VMware.

Shestakov
Expert
Posts: 7328
Liked: 773 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Does monitor report raid health?

Post by Shestakov » 1 person likes this post

Battles, let`s count it as a feature request. Any other Hyper-V hardware sensors you are interested in?
Thanks!

battles
Service Provider
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 07, 2017 2:03 pm
Full Name: Battles
Contact:

Re: Does monitor report raid health?

Post by battles » 1 person likes this post

Woot!

Mainly disk health, CPU temp, Network.

Danka!

Shestakov
Expert
Posts: 7328
Liked: 773 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Does monitor report raid health?

Post by Shestakov »

Got it. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests