Essentials - include VBR monitor?

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Essentials - include VBR monitor?

Veeam Logoby mattdwyerva » Mon Oct 26, 2015 5:40 pm

We have a 4 socket "Essentials" license that comes with VBR + Veeam One (V1). VBR 8.0 installed.

I never used V1, but recently found VBR excluding one VM (separate topic - case 01092404), and I thought I would explore monitor options with V1. When I installed V1 ver 8, it asked me if I wanted to monitor backups and if so, it would allow me to test that functionality for 30 days.

Dumb question... was that message just in case I had not purchased VBR (in case I had been testing V1 only), or does this means that V1 license in Essentials is NOT intended to report/monitor VBR?
mattdwyerva
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:54 pm
Full Name: Matt Dwyer

Re: Essentials - include VBR monitor?

Veeam Logoby PTide » Tue Oct 27, 2015 11:43 am

Hi,

Have you tried to install license after V1 installation?

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3021
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Essentials - include VBR monitor?

Veeam Logoby mattdwyerva » Tue Oct 27, 2015 2:30 pm

When I click on Help->License Information, it says
License Status: License is valid
License type: Full License
etc
....

So I think I am all set? I see the button to Install License, but if it is all set, I don't want to screw it up.
mattdwyerva
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:54 pm
Full Name: Matt Dwyer

Re: Essentials - include VBR monitor?

Veeam Logoby PTide » Tue Oct 27, 2015 2:38 pm

License type: Full License
Please contact technical support since it's an unexpected behaviour. After you open a ticket please post your case ID here.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3021
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Essentials - include VBR monitor?

Veeam Logoby mattdwyerva » Tue Oct 27, 2015 6:34 pm

Very good. Case 01093666
mattdwyerva
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:54 pm
Full Name: Matt Dwyer

Re: Essentials - include VBR monitor?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Oct 28, 2015 2:20 pm 1 person likes this post

Hello Matt,
mattdwyerva wrote:When I installed V1 ver 8, it asked me if I wanted to monitor backups and if so, it would allow me to test that functionality for 30 days.

Dumb question... was that message just in case I had not purchased VBR (in case I had been testing V1 only), or does this means that V1 license in Essentials is NOT intended to report/monitor VBR?

It works this way, you install VBR and Veeam ONE. During the Veeam ONE installation it asks for the license key. If you don`t apply a purchased one, you can proceed in the Free version. Backup infrastructure monitoring is not included in the free version, so you need to install the license. If you don`t it offers you to try out the Trial mode.
Once your full license is installed, you should be able to monitor VBR with no issues.

Veeam ONE Essentials license includes VBR monitoring and reporting.
Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Essentials - include VBR monitor?

Veeam Logoby mattdwyerva » Fri Oct 30, 2015 12:42 am

It works great now, thanks. Took me a bit to find the Veeam security groups, but this is very cool.

I do wish that the VBR jobs listed %complete and/or estimated total time (tricky calc I realize) in addition to bytes transferred. I can go weeks without caring, and then have a few painful days firing up excel repeatedly and doing the math on the time and the bytes/hr and setting alarms for myself to replace a tape... anyway, not critical but fwiw.
mattdwyerva
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:54 pm
Full Name: Matt Dwyer

Re: Essentials - include VBR monitor?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Nov 01, 2015 6:54 pm

Hi Matt, do you want to see this data in Veeam ONE reports or the Monitor Client?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Essentials - include VBR monitor?

Veeam Logoby mattdwyerva » Sun Nov 01, 2015 10:35 pm

I have just been using the Monitor Client at this point, so that was my reference. Historical data is well represented, imo, but I at times of change, I find myself creating new jobs and waiting for something, and I can only estimate how long they will take, since no history.
mattdwyerva
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:54 pm
Full Name: Matt Dwyer

Re: Essentials - include VBR monitor?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:21 am 1 person likes this post

Ok, got it! If you're doing your own math in Excel then our predefined report templates for Veeam backup can be useful as well.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Essentials - include VBR monitor?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Nov 16, 2015 9:34 am

Matt,

% Completed is a valid request, will add it in the next versions. Thanks!

mattdwyerva wrote:I can go weeks without caring, and then have a few painful days firing up excel repeatedly and doing the math on the time and the bytes/hr and setting alarms for myself to replace a tape... anyway, not critical but fwiw.

Could you specify what kind of warning are you missing? "Tape is full and need to be replaced"?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Essentials - include VBR monitor?

Veeam Logoby mattdwyerva » Thu Nov 19, 2015 3:52 pm

I already get emails when a tape is required, so no more alarms are needed. However, I sometimes do maintenance on weekends, and then I need to plan my day to avoid babysitting it, and the % complete would be helpful (even though I recognize it is just an estimate). I think that is it.
mattdwyerva
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:54 pm
Full Name: Matt Dwyer

Re: Essentials - include VBR monitor?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Nov 19, 2015 4:13 pm

Fair enough.
mattdwyerva wrote:I sometimes do maintenance on weekends, and then I need to plan my day to avoid babysitting it, and the % complete would be helpful (even though I recognize it is just an estimate).

Since data collection from VBR to Veeam ONE Monitor takes some time, %complete will be slightly behind the "real" number. Need to check if it`s not misleading for "faster" jobs. Thanks for the feedback once again!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests