False alarms for Snapshot size

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

False alarms for Snapshot size

Veeam Logoby pufferdude » Thu Dec 22, 2011 3:28 am

There seems to be an issue with the Snapshot Size alarm now that Veeam B&R v6 has arrived... now that v6 replication uses snapshots for the incrementals, this leads to large, but expected, long-lived snapshots on those replica VMs. I was hoping I could suppress the Snapshot Size alarm for these "replica snapshots" but there seems to be no way to do this. Choosing to suppress the alarm "during Veeam backup activity" has no effect, and none of the other suppression options seems appropriate.

If there's a way to suppress this alarm ONLY for these replica snapshots and no others, please let me know (I like having the alarm availablefor normal VMs... makes it less likely to forget to delete a snap). If not, please add such functionality to the next version of Monitor.
pufferdude
Expert
 
Posts: 126
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:26 pm
Full Name: Jim

Re: False alarms for Snapshot size

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:22 am

Hi Jim,

Why don't you want to disable snapshot alarm on replicated VMs? I believe it should be the right way to go, since I doubt that you would create extra snapshots manually on replicated VMs, right?

As to suppress options, then they are based on events written to vCenter Server, and they do not track snapshot names at all.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: False alarms for Snapshot size

Veeam Logoby pufferdude » Thu Dec 22, 2011 4:40 pm

So you're saying it's possible to disable the snapshot alarm on only specific VMs? I'm not familiar with how to do that.
pufferdude
Expert
 
Posts: 126
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:26 pm
Full Name: Jim

Re: False alarms for Snapshot size

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Dec 22, 2011 4:53 pm

Yes, of course ;) Choose the VM you want to disable this alarm on, click on the Alarms tab -> switch to Defined Alarms view and click on the Exclude checkbox on the right. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: False alarms for Snapshot size

Veeam Logoby pufferdude » Thu Dec 22, 2011 4:57 pm

Doh! Well all be darned... I was only looking at the arlarm definition itself and didn't realize I could exclude anything at the individual VM level. Guess I should read the manual ;-D Thanks!
pufferdude
Expert
 
Posts: 126
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:26 pm
Full Name: Jim


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests