Feature Request - Monitoring Multiple Veeam One Servers

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Feature Request - Monitoring Multiple Veeam One Servers

Veeam Logoby dbirnseth » Fri Mar 25, 2016 6:01 pm

I have Veeam One servers that I'd like to monitor at multiple remote sites. Unfortunately, the Veeam One client can only monitor a single Veeam Server at a time and is not able to run with multiple instances.

It appears that old versions of Veeam One permitted running multiple instances, but that this feature was removed at some point.

The most perfect solution would be if I could monitor multiple Veeam servers from within a single instance of Veeam One. The second best solution would be for me to run multiple instances of Veeam One client on my desktop, each going to a different site.

Thank you for your help!
dbirnseth
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 4:47 pm
Full Name: Dan Birnseth

Re: Feature Request - Monitoring Multiple Veeam One Servers

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sat Mar 26, 2016 7:18 am

Hello Dan,
Thanks for a good request.
Where do you want to keep a database for those servers?
The most perfect solution would be if I could monitor multiple Veeam servers from within a single instance of Veeam One.

What do you mean by monitor multiple Veeam servers, Veeam ONE servers or Veeam Backup&Replication servers?
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5145
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Feature Request - Monitoring Multiple Veeam One Servers

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:07 am

Actually we never had this feature before (multiple Veeam ONE servers connected to the same monitoring client), however can you please tell me what's the bandwidth between your sites?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19974
Liked: 1145 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Monitoring Multiple Veeam One Servers

Veeam Logoby dbirnseth » Mon Mar 28, 2016 2:29 am

Shestakov - What I mean is that I'd like to monitor multiple Veeam One databases, residing on multiple Veeam One servers, all by a single instance of a remote desktop client. This would in effect add another layer to the hierarchy on the left side of the screen. It would then result in the task-tray indicator turning red if we experience alarms at any Veeam One server.

Vitally - The previous feature I was referring to is documented in the following Veeam KB article where it explains how to run multiple instances of the client: https://www.veeam.com/kb1558. Our sites have 10mbit WAN link between them that is shared with other applications. We use multiple instances of the Veeam One Server because each site must maintain independence and local administrators should be able to fully monitor their infrastructure without dependence on the other site. But, we do often rely on remote administrators for vacation coverage or additional support as needed. That's where running multiple instances of the Veeam One client would be helpful for us.
dbirnseth
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 4:47 pm
Full Name: Dan Birnseth

Re: Feature Request - Monitoring Multiple Veeam One Servers

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Mar 28, 2016 11:23 am

Hi Dan,

Oh... I see, i thought that you were referring to multiple Veeam ONE servers feeding data to a central Veeam ONE server. Thanks for sharing your use case! The registry key mentioned in the KB might still work, I will double-check it with the devs for you.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19974
Liked: 1145 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Monitoring Multiple Veeam One Servers

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Mar 28, 2016 3:21 pm

Dan, our dev team has confirmed that this registry can still be used even with v9, so let me know if that works for you.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19974
Liked: 1145 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Monitoring Multiple Veeam One Servers

Veeam Logoby dbirnseth » Mon Mar 28, 2016 10:59 pm

Vitaly,
I've tried the registry key to run multiple instances and it doesn't seem to work. Only one instance can be brought up. A few weeks ago I opened a support case (#01718101) for this issue and was told to submit a feature request.
dbirnseth
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 4:47 pm
Full Name: Dan Birnseth

Re: Feature Request - Monitoring Multiple Veeam One Servers

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Mar 28, 2016 11:15 pm

Dan,
We will try to test it in our lab in v9.
Anyways, we will take your request into account for future releases!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5145
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Feature Request - Monitoring Multiple Veeam One Servers

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:08 am

Dan, can you please confirm that you're running version 9? Also can you please paste your registry key for us to verify it was created in the right place?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19974
Liked: 1145 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Monitoring Multiple Veeam One Servers

Veeam Logoby dbirnseth » Wed Mar 30, 2016 4:13 pm 1 person likes this post

Vitaly, Good news for Veeam. I now have multiple Veeam instances running on my desktop. I must have improperly implemented the registry change during my previous attempts, or the Veeam One v9 update 1 patch I recently installed benefited me. Either way, this is confirmation that the registry change is working well for Veeam One v9 update 1.

Thank you Vitaly and Shestakov for helping me and taking time to review my feature request.

-Dan
dbirnseth
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 4:47 pm
Full Name: Dan Birnseth

Re: Feature Request - Monitoring Multiple Veeam One Servers

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:18 pm

Thanks for updating Dan!
How many Servers have you connected to Veeam ONE client? Does it work fast enough?
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5145
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Feature Request - Monitoring Multiple Veeam One Servers

Veeam Logoby dbirnseth » Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:37 pm

I'm using 3 instances of the Veeam One client on my desktop to assist with 3 separate facilities. One instance is mostly for reference as it's primarily managed by someone else. The other two instances I use quite regularly and performance has been good enough that I don't notice delays except when starting the application or waiting for alarm status to propagate (when I resolve).

I'm now trying to figure out how to automatically start the multiple instances, this way I can auto-start the client when my computer reboots after weekly updates. I used to just keep Veeam One in my startup folder, but it only opens Veeam One for one of the servers.
dbirnseth
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 4:47 pm
Full Name: Dan Birnseth

Re: Feature Request - Monitoring Multiple Veeam One Servers

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Apr 06, 2016 11:36 am

You can try to use runas command for this, should do the trick.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19974
Liked: 1145 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] Multiple Customers Dashboard?

Veeam Logoby tinu75 » Mon Apr 25, 2016 9:52 am

Hi everyone

How can i show the status (dashboard) of multiple veeam one installations (customers) on one central dashboard? is it possible?
i have to show this on a big screen.
tinu75
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 9:49 am
Full Name: Martin Loosli

Re: Feature Request - Monitoring Multiple Veeam One Servers

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Apr 25, 2016 10:31 am

Hi Martin and welcome to the community!
Currently you cant`s connect a client to several Veeam ONE servers, but you can run several Veeam ONE clients on one machine.
Please review the thread for more info.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5145
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Next

Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest