Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Re: Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Veeam Logoby elwappo » Mon Aug 10, 2009 3:04 pm

Not yet. I was just wondering if there was a quick solution I could pick up here. Should I go ahead with a case?
elwappo
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 65
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:07 pm

One thing to check would be time setting on the new ESX server (if time is set correctly and difference is not too large with Monitor server). This is the only thing that comes to my mind, so if the time seems fine and NTP is configured correctly, then feel free to open a case with our support. You can send some latest service logs right away to save one turnaround ;)
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Veeam Logoby elwappo » Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:59 pm

So check this out. I removed the ESX server. I added it back using the I.P. address rather than the DNS name. Works great. If I remove it again and add the DNS name back it again does not record data. It doesn't display it either. But it does display the summary information and disk information. Weird huh? If I remove it from the monitor console is it really deleting it in the database? I'm wondering if maybe it needs to be completely nuked out and added back again. The DNS name is correct I triple checked. :-))
elwappo
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 65
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:06 pm

Yes, when you remove the server from Veeam Monitori it really does delete all of its data from the database completely. In fact, you will not be able to re-add the server until this process is complete (which may take a while if there is a lot of historical data to delete).

Have you checked if DNS name for this server is correctly specified in the ESX host settings? And whether DNS resolution of this DNS name works fine from Veeam Monitor server?
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Veeam Logoby javadragon » Wed Aug 12, 2009 6:54 pm

Greetings,
I have dealt with this issue for sometime. I still use Veeam Monitor, the free version, to keep track of all my guests but I haven't seen performance data for sometime. I am mostly using ESXi 3.5 and recently 4.0. I understood this to be a problem with VMware's licensing. Where VM would not allow access to this data anymore through the free versions of ESXi.
javadragon
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:44 pm
Full Name: Martin Knoll

Re: Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed Aug 12, 2009 7:29 pm

Martin, there is no such restriction in the free version of ESXi - reading data from free ESXi is not restricted in any way - so the reason you are not seeing performance data got to be different.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Veeam Logoby javadragon » Wed Aug 12, 2009 7:48 pm

I don't understand what the issue could be. It all started with ESXi 3.5 update 4, and continues not to display data. I am using the same NTP server on my Veeam server as all the ESXi boxes. I understand that support doesn't give priority to the free version, but I am willing to wait. I haven't had performance data for sometime and a little longer is no big deal. Can I open a support ticket with the free version?
javadragon
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:44 pm
Full Name: Martin Knoll

Re: Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Veeam Logoby elwappo » Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:23 pm

Opps forgot I had this question on here as well. I've been a little busy and have failed on my forum checking skills. :-)

I have not opened a case. I worked around this issue by putting in the I.P. address of the ESXi host I wanted to monitor. Once I did that it worked like a champ. I double and triple checked my DNS setup for the server and the machine that is running my Veeam monitor can ping it by name no problem. It seems to be a name resolution issue but I don't understand what is wrong. All my other hosts work fine.

Any ideas?

I checked my host setup in the ESX server and the DNS info is right there. Very strange indeed.
elwappo
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 65
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:09 pm

Not sure, since this exhausted the list of assumptions I had. :D
Did you try both short and long DNS names with all suffixes? This still looks like DNS-related issue by all means...

If you get some time and want to investigate this further, please send us service log for investigation to our support email. As the full version user you are fully eligible for technical support anyway ;)
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Veeam Logoby fhuber » Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:23 pm

My issue was solved this way:

Please, switch to the Typical scalability mode, the reason is that free edition of Monitor supports data collection within 24 hours only, while Advanced mode collects data for previous period and as you have no previous data available you can`t see any performance data on Free edition with Advanced mode.

Thanks to for your support, Irina (Veeam Support)
fhuber
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:48 am
Full Name: Florian Huber

Re: Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Sep 01, 2009 3:20 pm

This description above is not technically correct, the reason must have been different - because Advanced Scalability mode is fully supported in free version. However, if you were using Advanced Scalability mode with standalone ESXi hosts, then this would explain why you are not seeing performance data - there is corresponding known issue documented in the release notes document.

Advanced Scalability Mode
• Performance data is not collected for stand‐alone ESXi hosts in the Advanced scalability mode.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Veeam Logoby sixth » Tue Sep 22, 2009 3:04 pm

I had this same issue not to long ago. I opened a support case and sadly we weren't able to find a solution to the problem. If I remove the host and re-add it, its fine. It only occurs after a long period of time for me (2 months for one of the hosts that had the problem). The other host that lost its 'data' or reported that "no data available' was up for about a three months monitoring. Weird. Out of 12 hosts only those two (so far) have exhibited this.
sixth
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 52
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:57 am

Re: Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:35 pm

Can you please PM me the support case number, I would like to take a look and discuss with the devs.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Veeam Logoby alan.mckay » Fri Sep 25, 2009 5:06 pm

I get the same issue as just reported in another thread. It says next to the IP address for my ESXi server "connection problem" and "not responding".

But it was able to successfully and correctly populate the list of VMs that are on this ESXi server.
alan.mckay
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 4:29 pm
Full Name: Alan McKay

Re: Free Edition Empty Performance Graphs

Veeam Logoby scottmattingly » Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:35 pm

I think I am having a similar problem. If I add a host by IP address, the performance data is there, as is the hardware information under the hardware tab. If I add the host by name (ex esx001.ourdomain.com) then no performance data and under hardware tab, it just shows "Hardware information data is not available for this host" We are using esxi 3.5 update 4 and the way we do our DNS names is to set the esxi a static address and then put a manual DNS entry into our AD integrated DNS. The machine to IP address resolves fine. I can connect via DNS name with the VMWare VI client and it also works fine. I have tried this with over 50 of our hosts and we get the same behavior with all of them. Everything works great if it is added by IP, not so great if added by DNS name.

Please advise, We really want to use this, but we really want to have the machines listed by the DNS name, not IP.
scottmattingly
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 3:19 am

PreviousNext

Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests