Has someone tried to run Veeam Monitor 4.0 on Windows 7 RC?

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Has someone tried to run Veeam Monitor 4.0 on Windows 7 RC?

Veeam Logoby GrZeCh » Thu May 28, 2009 6:58 am

Hello,

Has someone tried to run Veeam Monitor 4.0 Free on Windows 7 RC? After adding my ESXi 4.0 hosts I see VM and Datastores in "Virtual Infrastructure" tree on the left but no details are showed (CPU, memory, network usage etc.). All I see is info that "No data available".

Thanks
GrZeCh
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Has someone tried to run Veeam Monitor 4.0 on Windows 7 RC?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Jun 01, 2009 12:57 pm

We have not started testing our products on Windows 7 yet, because it will only be released in about half-year from now (time period that happens to be Veeam's typical release cycle length); besides, many things can still change in it before the actual release. A few Windows 7 specific problem have already been reported for other products, so fully supporting Windows 7 would certainly require some level of development and QC.

Also, please note that some functionality of Veeam Monitor relies on VMware Infrastructure Client presense, and it also cannot be installed on Windows 7. Thus, I would not recommend using Veeam Monitor on Windows 7 at this time.

However, I wanted to check if by any chance you are connecting Veeam Monitor to stand-alone ESXi host while using Advanced Scalability mode, because this would result in "No data available" error on all OS versions (this is documented in the Known Issues section in the release notes document).

Thank you.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Has someone tried to run Veeam Monitor 4.0 on Windows 7 RC?

Veeam Logoby BillyT » Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:56 pm

I have the client installed on Win7 RC and it works fine.
BillyT
Service Provider
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 12:12 pm
Full Name: Bill Thompson

Re: Has someone tried to run Veeam Monitor 4.0 on Windows 7 RC?

Veeam Logoby alan.mckay » Fri Sep 25, 2009 4:33 pm

I had the same issue on Win XP and changed out of "Advanced Scalability" mode and now I get "connection problems"

I cannot find a document that came with my download to ensure I am connecting properly. I use the IP of the ESXi bare metal, and user "root" along with root password. I've tried both the default port 443, as well as port 22. Still no luck.
alan.mckay
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 4:29 pm
Full Name: Alan McKay

Re: Has someone tried to run Veeam Monitor 4.0 on Windows 7 RC?

Veeam Logoby alan.mckay » Fri Sep 25, 2009 4:40 pm

BTW, if it matters, the Windows machine this is running on is a VM within the same ESXi server. We are a Linux shop so this is what I have set up to manage the thing in the first place. It is really the only Windows box available for this.
alan.mckay
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 4:29 pm
Full Name: Alan McKay

Re: Has someone tried to run Veeam Monitor 4.0 on Windows 7 RC?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Sep 25, 2009 6:46 pm

Alan, you are doing everything correctly. What is the error message that you are getting (right-click your ESXi host and select Get Error Message).
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests