Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
eqj
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 15, 2010 2:20 pm
Full Name: Jonathan W
Contact:

Inaccurate Datastore free space data

Post by eqj » Nov 15, 2010 2:23 pm

Hi,

I have 3 VMware ESXi hosts which have been setup to 'see' the same 3 datastores. When I open Veeam Monitor Free and look at the summary tab, they all have different values even though its the same datastore.

How does it look up the data? And how do I get correct information?

Thanks

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Inaccurate Datastore free space data

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 15, 2010 2:55 pm

Hello Jonathan,

Could you please clarify if you're standing on the ESXi host's summary tab or Datastores' tab? By the way, do you have any local storage on your ESXi hosts?
Also it would be interesting to know what information does your vSphere Client show you while you choose each datastore? Do the fugures differ from what you see in Veeam Monitor?

Thanks!

eqj
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 15, 2010 2:20 pm
Full Name: Jonathan W
Contact:

Re: Inaccurate Datastore free space data

Post by eqj » Nov 15, 2010 2:59 pm

Hello,

Comparing it to ESXi's summary tab, the values are the same. Upon further investigation, it seems it is VSphere which is not refreshing real time data. So Veeam is pulling its information from here. Some datastores have not been refreshed for over a month. Why would it not do this automatically? I don't see a Datastores tab, would this be different Summary?

I do have local storage on each ESXi host. Why do you ask?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24466
Liked: 3413 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Inaccurate Datastore free space data

Post by Gostev » Nov 15, 2010 3:02 pm

eqj wrote: Why would it not do this automatically?
May be some services are down on ESXi, try rebooting the host and see if it helps.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Inaccurate Datastore free space data

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 15, 2010 3:10 pm

eqj wrote:I don't see a Datastores tab, would this be different Summary?
It would be the same information from your virtual infrastructure. Datastore view contains all metrics and data available for your datastores, this object is located in the Infrastructure tree on the left pane of Veeam Monitor application.

eqj
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 15, 2010 2:20 pm
Full Name: Jonathan W
Contact:

Re: Inaccurate Datastore free space data

Post by eqj » Nov 15, 2010 3:32 pm

Gostev wrote: May be some services are down on ESXi, try rebooting the host and see if it helps.
So this is not normal behaviour of ESXi? Do you have one to test? How often should VMware (not Veeam) refresh this data?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Inaccurate Datastore free space data

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 15, 2010 4:13 pm

Yes, that's not normal. You should see the datastore free space changes immediately after you upload/delete any files from the datastore.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24466
Liked: 3413 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Inaccurate Datastore free space data

Post by Gostev » Nov 15, 2010 4:16 pm

Performance data should be refreshed nearly real-time.

eqj
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 15, 2010 2:20 pm
Full Name: Jonathan W
Contact:

Re: Inaccurate Datastore free space data

Post by eqj » Nov 15, 2010 4:21 pm

Wow thats suprising, considering some have not been refreshed in over a month. Also it seems all 3 hosts have this problem. Wonder what it could be!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Inaccurate Datastore free space data

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 15, 2010 4:51 pm

If I were you, I would try to re-initialize those datastores, might help. As regards to my question related to local storages - do you have the same inaccurate infromation for local storages as well?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests