Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
Slavik
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 17, 2016 5:32 am
Full Name: Slavik
Contact:

Monitor sample rate is too low

Post by Slavik » Nov 28, 2016 8:15 am

I installed fresh One Monitor Free 9.5 on Win 7 Pro x64 about 2 days ago.
And when I look for one day report, I see 2 hours granularity. That's really low sample rate for the day.
Can I increase it, so I get at least 5-10mins granularity for the PAST DAY period?

Image

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22999
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Monitor sample rate is too low

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 28, 2016 9:12 am

Slavik,

Veeam ONE stores 5 minutes data samples for the past week in the typical installation mode, to confirm that you can create a raw performance data report from the custom report pack. As for the monitor graphs, as far as I know the chart is scaled to the max number of data points that can be displayed at a time. The smaller your interval is, the more detailed data you can see in the client.

Thanks!

Slavik
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 17, 2016 5:32 am
Full Name: Slavik
Contact:

Re: Monitor sample rate is too low

Post by Slavik » Nov 28, 2016 8:45 pm

Vitaliy,

You are saying, that "Veeam ONE stores 5 minutes data samples for the past week", but as you can see in my screenshot - I have only 2 hours samples.
This is fresh install, with all default options.
How can I troubleshoot my installation, so I get 5 minutes samples, not 2 hours? Should I reinstall? Is there setting somewhere? Is there SQL statement I can run / table to edit?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22999
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Monitor sample rate is too low

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 29, 2016 9:59 am

Slavik, I'm saying the Monitor UI (engine) displays X amount of data points for the graph, no matter what reporting interval is selected. For example, if you select one year, it will automatically aggregate data to show you the graph that will look like a smooth line.

Re-install is not needed here, however I will double-check with the devs how the UI engine selects data points to display.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22999
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Monitor sample rate is too low

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 29, 2016 11:51 am

BTW, are you running in Typical or Advanced mode?

Slavik
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 17, 2016 5:32 am
Full Name: Slavik
Contact:

Re: Monitor sample rate is too low

Post by Slavik » Nov 29, 2016 10:40 pm

I have FREE edition. I don't think I can choose between Advanced or Typical. At least, I haven't seen yet how to switch.

Anyway,
After I rebooted the system, it shows data with higher sample rate. And i didn't change anything - just rebooted.

Image

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22999
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Monitor sample rate is too low

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 30, 2016 10:26 am

Hmm...looks like a bug then. Can you please open a support case and send the debug logs for review to see why you didn't have a proper graph initially? Might be off base, but when did you install Veeam ONE? Last night?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 714 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Monitor sample rate is too low

Post by Shestakov » Dec 01, 2016 11:37 am

The switch between data collection modes available even in free product version.
You can check it in the Options > Server Settings > Other Settings > "Launch" button
Then go to the "Scalability" section and check the setting.
Thanks!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22999
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Monitor sample rate is too low

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 20, 2017 2:27 pm

The issue discussed in this thread has been fixed in Update 1 > https://www.veeam.com/kb2223

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest