Monitoring Hardware & Alarms

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Monitoring Hardware & Alarms

Veeam Logoby Honk » Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:49 pm

Hello!

I am testing Veeam Monitor Free Edition. I have a VMware ESXi 4.1 installed on a HP Server, snmp is activated and configured. I can see the hardware status and I am curious, if there is a way to activate alarms for hardware failure, like a broken Raid-Array, too high temperatures, broken fans etc. I went through all defined alarms but was not able to find anything matching.
Thanks
Honk
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:42 pm

Re: Monitoring Hardware & Alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:10 pm

Hello,

Veeam Monitor has a pre-defined alarm called "Host hardware sensor status changed" that is automatically fired off when you have issues with Fan/High temperatures etc., is this what you've been trying to find?

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Monitoring Hardware & Alarms

Veeam Logoby Honk » Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:23 am

Well, I tested that one as well, but it keeps sending alerts like every 15-20 Minutes, though the hardware is fine and problem isn't really explained well in the mail. I thought about specific alerts like for overheat (cpu), broken raid array or fans.
Thanks for your help!
Honk
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:42 pm

Re: Monitoring Hardware & Alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:51 am

Have you checked the Hardware sensor tab on the ESX(i) host node? Do all of the sensors look healthy?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Monitoring Hardware & Alarms

Veeam Logoby Honk » Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:47 am

Ah alright, it was the second missing power supply unit. HP SIM didn't list it as an error.
Thanks again ^^
Honk
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:42 pm

Re: Monitoring Hardware & Alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:15 am

Sure thing, if the second power supply is missing (has an unknown state), you may want to remove that trigger from the alarm configurations.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Monitoring Hardware & Alarms

Veeam Logoby Honk » Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:11 am

Well, the second power supply unit is just removed for testing purposes. But is it possible to remove the alarm for a specific hardware and leave the rest as it is?
It looks like I'd need to get the full version of Veeam Monitor since cause and resolution aren't available.
Honk
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:42 pm

Re: Monitoring Hardware & Alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:20 am

Honk wrote:But is it possible to remove the alarm for a specific hardware and leave the rest as it is?

Currently there is no workaround for this, we are planning to add this functionality in our next product release.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Monitoring Hardware & Alarms

Veeam Logoby monderick » Mon Feb 28, 2011 9:39 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:
Honk wrote:But is it possible to remove the alarm for a specific hardware and leave the rest as it is?

Currently there is no workaround for this, we are planning to add this functionality in our next product release.


Will this also include the ability to isolate specific VM's from configured alarms such as "heartbeat is missing for VM"?
A few of our VM's do not support VMtools and we'd like to exempt these (along with powered off VM's) from triggering the alarm.

thanks.
monderick
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 9:29 pm

Re: Monitoring Hardware & Alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Feb 28, 2011 10:19 pm

The functionality you describe is available in the current release. You can exclude any object from alarming by navigating to this Virtual Object (VM) within a Virtual Infrastructure tree on the left pane then choose "Alarms tab -> Defined Alarms -> Exclude". Hope it helps!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Monitoring Hardware & Alarms

Veeam Logoby monderick » Tue Mar 01, 2011 1:39 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:The functionality you describe is available in the current release. You can exclude any object from alarming by navigating to this Virtual Object (VM) within a Virtual Infrastructure tree on the left pane then choose "Alarms tab -> Defined Alarms -> Exclude". Hope it helps!


perfect, thanks!
monderick
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 9:29 pm

Re: Monitoring Hardware & Alarms

Veeam Logoby Greg S. » Tue May 03, 2011 1:14 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:The functionality you describe is available in the current release. You can exclude any object from alarming by navigating to this Virtual Object (VM) within a Virtual Infrastructure tree on the left pane then choose "Alarms tab -> Defined Alarms -> Exclude". Hope it helps!


I was going to post this question, but upon a search of the forum I found this. I just wanted to say THANK YOU! This worked perfectly!
Greg S.
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 12:49 pm
Full Name: Greg S.


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests