Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
adrianIDC
Expert
Posts: 179
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mar 03, 2015 10:44 am
Contact:

No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by adrianIDC » Aug 20, 2015 7:48 am

I have added several veeam one cluster of hyper - v to be monitored .

The problem I see is when I select a random virtual machine and notice that the CPU usage using the Summary tab and the CPU does not appear pestalla indicate NO DATA AVAILABLE

If I agree to a machine in question and its task manager , I note that it is having a CPU utilization of 30/40 % but veeam one monitor only 1% or 0 % appears .
Why?

But if I can see that on the Memory tab when the chart appears .


Thanks!

adrianIDC
Expert
Posts: 179
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mar 03, 2015 10:44 am
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by adrianIDC » Aug 20, 2015 8:29 am

Only appears data from time period Last Week but not appears to Last Hour and or in real time


On the screen only OVERALL NO DATA AVAILABLE nothing appears,.

I reinciado the virtual machine where it is installed veeam and remains unchanged.

Only when I have information graphics indicated that want to see the last month or week.

adrianIDC
Expert
Posts: 179
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mar 03, 2015 10:44 am
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by adrianIDC » Aug 20, 2015 9:07 am

Version Veeam One Monitor is 8.0.0.1669

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22984
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by Vitaliy S. » Aug 20, 2015 11:44 am 1 person likes this post

Hi Adrian,
adrianIDC wrote:If I agree to a machine in question and its task manager , I note that it is having a CPU utilization of 30/40 % but veeam one monitor only 1% or 0 % appears .
Do you make this comparison based on the in-guest task manager resource usage or VM usage graphs reported by Hyper-V manager?
adrianIDC wrote:On the screen only OVERALL NO DATA AVAILABLE nothing appears,.
Please let our technical team take a look at the debug logs by opening a support case. BTW, do you see this issue for all objects added to Veeam ONE console?

Thanks!

adrianIDC
Expert
Posts: 179
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mar 03, 2015 10:44 am
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by adrianIDC » Aug 20, 2015 12:03 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Hi Adrian,
Do you make this comparison based on the in-guest task manager resource usage or VM usage graphs reported by Hyper-V manager? Please let our technical team take a look at the debug logs by opening a support case. BTW, do you see this issue for all objects added to Veeam ONE console?

Thanks!
Hi Vitaliy!

I do this in comparison with the Task Manager of each virtual machine operating system started . In it I see the CPU usage varies but Veeam ONE shows nothing , always at 0 %.

Yes, I see the same for everything that you add to veeam one monitor console.
The type of server is added hyper - v Cluster.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22984
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by Vitaliy S. » Aug 20, 2015 12:18 pm 1 person likes this post

Ok, thanks for clarification. Resource usage reported by task manager launched inside the guest OS cannot be compared with resource usage by the VM. Hypervisor has it own CPU/Memory management techniques (for example, memory can be compressed, shared etc.).

As regards no data available issue, then our support team assistance is required here.

adrianIDC
Expert
Posts: 179
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mar 03, 2015 10:44 am
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by adrianIDC » Aug 21, 2015 8:16 am

Well I think I have found the solution.

I reinciado system (virtual machine where it is installed veeam ) and already I can see the CPU usage of both cluster , host, and virtual machine.

Thanks Vitaliy ;)

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22984
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by Vitaliy S. » Aug 21, 2015 9:46 am

Got it, next time you can ask for assistance from our support team

Ljnuxgeek
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 21, 2016 3:40 am
Full Name: Vu Bui
Location: Viet Nam
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by Ljnuxgeek » Apr 21, 2016 5:08 am

Hi AdrianIDC!

Is the "reinciado" means restart?

I have the same issue as your post! Some VMs in the same Hyper-V host show that "No data available" (in the last hour, and last day) on the DATASTORE tab for I/O performance. While another VMs I can see full information like: CPU, RAM, Disk,... (at all checkpoint).

I had also run this script on this Hyper-V host. https://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/s ... l-652fdd54
And these "No data available"-VMs is showing like that:
Image

So I think this problem is came from the virtual machine or the Hyper-V.
Please give me an advice or some KB for this problems.

Many thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22984
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 21, 2016 10:40 am

Bui, can you please open perfmon on the Hyper-V host and check if you see any VM metrics there?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 711 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by Shestakov » Apr 21, 2016 10:45 pm

Bui,
If Hyper-V doesn`t collect those performance metrics, Veeam ONE will not be able to show the either.
Besides Vitaliy`s question, could you specify the Hyper-V and Veeam ONE versions you are using? Thanks!

Ljnuxgeek
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 21, 2016 3:40 am
Full Name: Vu Bui
Location: Viet Nam
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by Ljnuxgeek » Apr 22, 2016 6:33 am

Hi Vitaliy S, Hi Shestakov,

We are running and testing on the Hyper-V version: 6.3.9600.16384 (Windows Server 2012 R2) and Veeam ONE: 9.0.0.2062

Hyper-V may be have some problems with "high performance" VMs, while another VMs on the same host is still normal. (So Veeam ONE can get real time report from these VMs!!!)
Perfmon's result you can see on the below picture :
Image

If you know any Microsoft's KB for this problems, please support us.

Thanks in advance.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 711 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by Shestakov » Apr 22, 2016 8:28 am

Do you have any VMs which has performance data shown in perfmon, but don`t have in Veeam ONE? If yes, that`s an issue to be investigated with the support team. Do you have any data collection alarms in Veeam ONE?
As for lack of performance data in Hyper-V, I used to have a similar issue in my lab which was resolved by restart of Hyper-V services. It was on Windows Server 2012 R2 as well.
I`ll search for more info about it.

Ljnuxgeek
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 21, 2016 3:40 am
Full Name: Vu Bui
Location: Viet Nam
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by Ljnuxgeek » Apr 22, 2016 10:37 am

Hi Shestakov,
Shestakov wrote:Do you have any VMs which has performance data shown in perfmon, but don`t have in Veeam ONE? Do you have any data collection alarms in Veeam ONE?
No, we don't. We have already set a schedule for data collection in Veeam ONE.

Because we are running these host as the production server, so we can't reboot it now. We will try to restart this host on the next holiday.
Please let me know, if your team have any new solution for this issue.

Many thanks.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 711 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by Shestakov » Apr 22, 2016 11:41 am

Haven`t found any related Microsoft KB, but our dev. team suggested to check the perfmon locally on the Hyper-V host itself.
Not sure if you checked it remotely before though.

Ljnuxgeek
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 21, 2016 3:40 am
Full Name: Vu Bui
Location: Viet Nam
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by Ljnuxgeek » May 11, 2016 10:50 am

Hi Shestakov,

Thanks for your quick support. After reboot the Hyper-V server, our VEEAM One Monitor VMs now can get all information that we need to generate the report.
Sorry for my late response, it worked okay since two week ago, but we want to follow and make sure it not happen again :D

Reboot Hyper-V is not the best way to solve this problem, so I'll try to find out another way to fix it in the future.
Tks.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 711 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by Shestakov » May 11, 2016 1:03 pm

Hyper-V reboot is definitely not the most elegant solution :)
Have you checked the performance locally as I suggested above?
Thanks!

Ljnuxgeek
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 21, 2016 3:40 am
Full Name: Vu Bui
Location: Viet Nam
Contact:

Re: No data shows CPU USAGE

Post by Ljnuxgeek » May 12, 2016 1:49 am

Hi Shestakov,
Shestakov wrote:Have you checked the performance locally as I suggested above?
Yes bro, I have try to check with the perfmon tools on Hyper-V server on both locally and remote SCVMM node (and trying with another script or some 3rd party tools also), but it nearly have the same results.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests