Remote Connection Error

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Remote Connection Error

Veeam Logoby albal » Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:52 am

Hi,

What does the following error mean specifically:

23/09/2010 10:47:34 Warning 0x1718 GUI"Service connection failed Address = \\172.19.94.99\pipe\VeeaMDCS Error = 0x5"

Thanks,
Al
albal
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:50 am
Full Name: Al

Re: Remote Connection Error

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:01 am

Hello Al,

This error means that no connection could be made to Veeam server part from the client one. Could you please tell me if you have all in one installation or you distributed client and server part to different machines?

You may want to look through this thread for the troubleshooting steps that could be made to resolve the issue:
http://www.veeam.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2011&start=15#p15681

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Remote Connection Error

Veeam Logoby albal » Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:27 am

Hi,

I have an XP machine running the Server/Database and then I'm connecting over the network from a Windows 7 Client Machine. All firewalls have been turned off and the Server is a clean machine with no other installation other than XP SP2.

I did read through that thread before posting and didn't seem to glean anything useful for my problem from it.

Thanks,
Al
albal
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:50 am
Full Name: Al

Re: Remote Connection Error

Veeam Logoby albal » Thu Sep 23, 2010 11:06 am

Now I've installed VEEAM Business view and now get the following error in the local monitor.gui.log:

CGUIPipeClient: Unable to init new connection - Couldn't create crypto provider
albal
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:50 am
Full Name: Al

Re: Remote Connection Error

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Sep 23, 2010 11:27 am

Al,

Could you please tell me if you have both machines in the same domain/workgroup? What account do you use to connect to Veeam server part? Does it belong to Veeam Monitoring or Veeam Monitoring Trusted group?

As regards the second error, I haven't met it before...could you tell me what Monitor version are you currently running? I would try rebooting the Monitor server and see if this fixes the issue or not.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Remote Connection Error

Veeam Logoby albal » Thu Sep 23, 2010 11:39 am

Hi,

My Veeam Server is not part of the domain. The Win7 Client is part of the domain.

I'm using version 4.5.0.189 - also when I start the client a messagebox is shown that states "Could not connect to the Veeam Monitor Server. Please check "Options" -> "General" -> "Veeam Monitor Server". However when I go there Database Status is Ok.

Thanks,
Al
albal
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:50 am
Full Name: Al

Re: Remote Connection Error

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Sep 23, 2010 11:50 am

Al, you need to add users you want to connect with to Veeam security groups to be able to authorize and authenticate on the Veeam Monitor server part. To achieve this you should either add Veeam Server to the domain and add domain users to corresponding group or use the same local user while establishing the client-server connection.

Besides, why don't you have a look at Veeam Monitor 5 Beta version, which has lots of nice features such as predefined alarms, KB, summary dashboards etc:
http://www.veeam.com/go/monitor-50?ad=home
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Remote Connection Error

Veeam Logoby albal » Thu Sep 23, 2010 1:11 pm

Now with the Beta I get the following error on the Server Machine using the Client:

CGUIPipeClient: Unable to init new connection - Couldn't create crypto provider (Error - -2146893809)

Does the system expect to have SP3 installed on XP?
albal
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:50 am
Full Name: Al

Re: Remote Connection Error

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Sep 23, 2010 2:42 pm

I don't think that WinXP SP3 might be causing this issue, I would try to create another local user account and launch Veeam Monitor application from this account, as it seems like there is an issue with some kind of crypto provider for specified user.

Please let me know if that helps.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests